Who Speaks for Earth?


The old fears rear their ugly heads once more, I think that they never left as much as I chose to ignore them—“There are no monsters under my bed, there are no monsters under my bed, there are no monsters under my bed.” I chanted with the bed covers cocooning me tightly, a fabric womb to shield me from all evils.

Once asleep the days events replayed in my head (in vivid 1080 P ) shadow plays, the imagination trying to make sense of the adult world—“they want to kill us with nuclear bombs, bad men everywhere, crazy people who would delight in setting my world alight”, what a terrifying thing for a child to face nightly. As adults we face monsters daily, real flesh and blood fiends, ideological, financially, most of the monsters remain thin smoke emanating from censers, the manifestation of personal failings, unmet responsibilities, fortunes not made.

But somewhere the old fears live, murmurs getting louder— so maybe tonight I will chant once again “There are no monsters under my bed, there are no monsters under my bed, there are no monsters under my bed.”

How I wish I could vanquish all the monsters.

About Jack Cassidy

Don't worry I'm not trying to be a Legitimate blogger.........no time for it and no money in it, just have fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

400 Responses to Who Speaks for Earth?

  1. fi says:

    Anyone around, Latte time.

  2. Beowoof says:

    Goodnight Caller 8, you be well friend

  3. BoyInBOYCOTT says:

    Morning Realm
    sunny going to mid 70’s
    Phil Collins – Another Day In Paradise

    I’m going to have to find a hat I’m willing to garden in, to avoid sunburn. Beau wears straw hats, but he shaves his head. I’m not keen on any hats ,maybe a baseball cap if it’s comfy. We don’t have trees leafed out yet, so the lack of shade in late afternoon is harsh.

    • BoyInBOYCOTT says:

      Berlin – Take My Breathe Away theme from Top Gun with Lyrics

      Kokomo – The Beach Boys HD

      The Beach Boys – Good Vibrations – Rare Studio Recording Film Footage

      Beach Boys live ’64 Little Deuce Coupe

  4. BoyInBOYCOTT says:

    Beach Boys ” I Get Around ” Live 1964

    I hope cobalt had an uneventful flight and is happily fishing….*waves

  5. fi says:

    NEW PIX, NEW PIX, NEW PIX, NEW PIX, NEW PIX, NEW PIX, NEW PIX, NEW PIX, NEW PIX, NEW PIX!
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-21705970

  6. PocoToo says:

    First, I took the time to watch the 1 hour 2 minute video.

  7. BoyInBOYCOTT says:

    hi ho hi ho…off to the garden

  8. Hello the Realm…. 😀

  9. fi says:

    🙄
    No pleasing you at all Jasmine!

  10. BoyInBOYCOTT says:

    I’ve been working in the garden. I mixed up some goop (glue, water, water putty, shreaded paper) and put it on the hobbit houses It worked well. I made a window cut from a milk carton, added black lattice (that gutter cover mesh.) In the center I added some sugar cane pieces that looks like weathered boards.

    I took a walk back along the sugar cane fields and found some good pieces of tree bark.
    I cut up the milk carton and there was another circle that looked like it had the compass directional marks. I added two pieces of cool bark. I plan to make a table from the circle and it will have heavy bark base.

  11. fi says:

    Anyone home???????????????????

  12. termgirl says:

    Hi, Realm.
    My lunch break is almost over…… can only stay a minute.
    BIB…. I don’t know how you come up with your Hobbit ideas, but I am in awe. Unfortunately, I could not open your link.
    Jack, cg, BIB, and anyone I may have missed, have a good day.
    Oh… almost forgot to mention,
    a few days ago it was in the mid-80s here, today we’re getting rain and hail.
    Crazy!
    BBL.

    “What Rand Paul Really Tninks About Drones:”
    http://thinkprogress.org/security/2013/03/07/1685411/what-rand-paul-really-thinks-about-drones/ .

  13. Haruko Haruhara says:

    Temperatures rising faster than they have in 11,000 years. More good news. 😦 http://www.cnn.com/2013/03/08/world/world-climate-change/index.html?hpt=hp_t1

    Crikey, this is so fixable if we just put our minds to it.

  14. Haruko Haruhara says:

    Phew! Two days in a row I can ride my bike. I have to take advantage every day I can.

  15. BoyInBOYCOTT says:

    I think I’ll toss together a hamburger hot dish with cream of mushroom and cream of celery soups and diced celery.

  16. BoyInBOYCOTT says:

    I wore a straw hat today, I didn’t like it, but I wore it. I need to find a baseball cap, or bucket hat, which would shade my ears better.

  17. BTW – is anyone here familiar with any of these bands? I hear that Pretty Lights is good, but I don’t know anything about the others. Which ones are ‘must see’s?
    http://snowballmusicfestival.com/schedule

  18. fi says:

    BBL, cheese scones are ready to come out the oven.

  19. BoyInBOYCOTT says:

    click your heels 3 times

  20. BoyInBOYCOTT says:

    =====> garden
    laterz

  21. nebdem says:

    Who Speaks for the Earth

    The ladybugs and soaring doves
    The flowers that bloom
    And the shores that hug
    The lowly dust-mites that are in our rugs

    The reflection of the moon
    Off lake, stream and pond
    The does and the crows
    The squirrels and the fawns

    Who Speaks for the Earth?
    If only we could know what they are saying
    They tell us everyday in ways
    But we cannot understand their tone

    The cats in their meow
    The mice scaring the sows
    The dogs and their bark
    The rustling of leaves by the meadowlark

    The mares in whinny
    The hyenas in grinning
    The lions in roaring
    The thunder when it is storming

  22. CPAwADD says:

    Time Bomb — Rancid http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DhKHAopx7D0
    If you wanna make the move
    Then you better come in
    It’s just the ability to reason
    That wears so thin
    Living and dying and the stories that are true
    Secrets to a good life is knowing when you’re through

Comments are closed.