NYC–Ecco Bikes, Falling Cranes And Ancient Street Music


About Jack Wayne

Don't worry I'm not trying to be a Legitimate blogger.........no time for it and no money in it, just have fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

278 Responses to NYC–Ecco Bikes, Falling Cranes And Ancient Street Music

  1. Jack says:

    FEE killed the thread.

  2. nebdem says:

    Greetings!

  3. nebdem says:

    Is Haruko around? I just want her to know that I fanned her on HP after reading a comment she wrote on a thread about Obama’s response today about the whole NSA ordeal.

    • Haruko Haruhara says:

      Oh hai!

    • Jack says:

      I’m reading comments on that page and can’t believe the delusion on both sides.

      • Haruko Haruhara says:

        I can. Nothing surprises me anymore.

        • Jack says:

          This was probably the worst of the lbs— “Any of you would do the exact same thing if you were in Obama’s shoes and knew what he knew.

          Some whining the loudest here would probably do more.”

          I’m still looking for the worst of the baggers but thee is so much to choose from.

      • nebdem says:

        I got super-trolled last night. I wrote a comment saying that it was a breach of both the 3rd and the 4th Amendments and a person commented and tried to insult me by asking me all of these question that he wanted an answer to. I wrote the comment, they responded. I don’t owe them an explanation of my opinion. It was like the person felt they were the one who wrote the initial comment. I read through several of his comments on his profile and i saw a lot of other posters asking him something like: ‘Why are you asking me these questions, write you’re own fucking comment, don’t jump on everyone else’s comments and ridicule that.’

        • Haruko Haruhara says:

          I hate those posters who have nothing to actually say and just run around forums simply responding to others.

          • nebdem says:

            The person on my comment may have had something to make a point about, but they went about it the wrong way. I have read enough articles on this NSA ordeal to know that any spin being done is by someone who has no problem at all with the overreach by the NSA. The law as it is written doesn’t grant them the power to what they did. So justifying it by nit-picking the details only makes it worse for those defending it. The person i had that conversation with was trying to imply that I didn’t know a damn thing about meta-data, and about the information that they compile. Some prefer to stay on topic with an article, but fail to allow the 20 to 30 other articles written about said incident to be considered. I wrote that the NSA had the capability to gather information in ‘real time,’ to which they said wasn’t so. I would have posted them links to back up everything i wrote, but why go through the trouble when the person on wants to argue?

        • Jack says:

          yep saw a guy like that—hell I was bored yesterday and some dipstick went to one of my youtube vids over a year old ( HA Ron Paul http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ks7jZuSoZCg ) I was about to start doing ur JB schtick.

          • nebdem says:

            I just read through that. The comment exchanges on Youtube can really get out of hand. It was a decent exchange between you and Sanguine, I think you explained your points better than they did.

        • BoyInBOYCOTT says:

          it’s a form of attack they ask a bunch of red herring questions. I ignore those assholes

          • BoyInBOYCOTT says:

            some of them want to shove THEIR thoughts into your post, I” kindly” explain that ain’t the way a forum works, and to keep their SH*T inside THEIR comment box.

          • nebdem says:

            Hi, BIB. I was nice to them by not responding to their last comment. In their last response they asked me to respond to the question they posed, I was about to write “Why should I, I wrote an opinion, you questioned my opinion, why should I even bother with responding when all you did was try to derail my opinion?”

  4. Haruko Haruhara says:
    • nebdem says:

      I don’t blame him at all for skipping Venezuela. He is being a True Patriot for doing this! Though there are many Beliebers that will be left out, they will not be left behind, Justin will do something special for them, he has a great heart, you wait and see.

    • MSII says:

      They rightly don’t want their country infected by the plague that is bieber-fever…

  5. Jack says:

    I should have become a Paulinista and a gun loon—then realty would be easer to tolerate.

  6. fi says:

    Jeabus, my sis in law can talk for hours and say nothing!

  7. Haruko Haruhara says:

    So, the person who sent Ricin letters to Obama and Bloomberg is an actress from the Walking Dead?

  8. fi says:

    I think I may have to have another helping of bread and butter pud, with tea!

  9. nebdem says:

    One thing should be clear now. When the DOJ went after the AP, the Press as a whole, mostly, decided that they weren’t going to pull their punches anymore for the President. I can foresee a backlash against the Administration’s reaction to whistleblowers. There is going to be a lot more information coming out in the future about a lot of things.

    • fi says:

      Oh good, but the baggers are gonna have to get themselves an Education to understand it.
      What am I talking about, they will just tune to Fox for an opinion!

  10. nebdem says:

    The Democratic apologists are really making me sick. To justify their stance they are morphing into ardent Bush supporters, despite the fact that nowhere in the law is it allowed for the NSA to do exactly what it did in this situation. The law grants them the power to eavesdrop and monitor with a warrant, under Bush they didn’t need a warrant until the courts forced that change to the legislation in the Patriot Act. Needless to say, what the NSA did in this situation was collect data that has NOTHING to do with a possible investigation into a terrorist conspiracy, that data then was stored for some purpose in the future, possibly a database with history about innocent people and their normal activities. The Democratic apologists really are struggling right now. I’m a Democrat and I voted for Obama twice, having said that, I’m not going to stay silent and not be critical when the BS continues to happen. It makes no sense to blame Bush for everything, and then stay silent when Obama is simply following through with plans started under Bush.

    • Jack says:

      At this moment don’t know what to say—that’s saying a lot. I try not to process info on emotion but it’s really hard not to on this one.

    • Haruko Haruhara says:

      Yeah, I have someone defending this snooping to the teeth.

    • Jack says:

      In all this talk something important is being left out—the people’s fault. The knee-jerk reaction after 9/11 people LET the government expand their powers and now we are shocked?

      • nebdem says:

        That is true. I cannot not deny that, but even so people then were still pissed about the overreach, a portion from both sides were concerned about the ramifications of the Patriot Act. Some even tried to have it overturned, but with no success. We all know the danger of the Patriot Act in the hands of a government that wants to see everyone as potential suspects. However, I think it is wrong to approach this situation with prefacing that most should know that this is to be expected because it was wrong then and it is still wrong now. No need to justify why it is happening, it still pisses people off rightfully so, and for some to say “well, we should have expected this.” While correct because we can all read the Patriot Act and the other legislation, still the onus should be on calling out the government for its blatant overreach.

        • MSII says:

          The “patriot act” is an abomination and needs to go, along with “homeland security” a massively invasive obscene orwellian organization.

          • nebdem says:

            Hi, MSII

            I completely agree. I agree that they had a time and place, but as long as they stay around the war on terror will never end, even when it does end, those two will still be around.

          • Jack says:

            Unfortunately it’s here to stay. We need to be vocal in not allowing it to be expanded and fight to remove the worst parts while keeping the good such as the parts that deal with money laundering by terrorist in our banks.

        • Jack says:

          Of course it’s our duty to question the government but what we need is to hold to it accountable—-Because all things roll to the POTUS feet libs fear rattling the cage because some stuff will stick to Obama.

          Worse is the feeling that any critique will give the baggers bragging rights—see what s happening people rather see the country flounder rather than let some idiots have an opinion. So we get a POTUS in 2008 telling us that he will move mountains to make sure the minimum wage is raised to a paltry $9.50 Hr to 4 years later this January promising to increase minimum wage to $ 9.00 Hr and it is now June 7 and nothing. I know by the time we get minimum wage he’ll get us at least $ 3.00 Hr—HEY! it’s the Rethugs opposition you know.

          • nebdem says:

            Those are great points. I think what it comes down to the most is whether a person wants to stay consistent with the criticism they gave Bush about some of this stuff. If it wasn’t OK for Bush, then it is not OK for Obama. I remember how pissed i was during Bush and it was not always at him but how the government was over-reaching in situations. It is happening now and it still bothers me, i don’t care who the President is, the criticism from my nd has to remain consistent, because I have to make it right for myself.

            it is true that the baggers will see this as people now buying into what they were talking about, but the key difference is that they have not been consistent, the shoe is on the other foot now, but even so, they didn’t raise these concerns under Bush, so they can take a hike with their new found concerns.

      • MSII says:

        Truth!

  11. fi says:

    Ok, Treasure Quest will be starting soon, and its an early night for me, working an early shift tomorrow.

  12. Haruko Haruhara says:

    Another school shooting … in L.A. Depressing … sigh

  13. BoyInBOYCOTT says:

    Ate my pork/shrimp subgum chow mein and an egg roll for lunch, it was quite tasty, but I preferred my orignal all pork chow mein,( made with pork cutlets diced up.) I have to go get fasting blood tests done soon, maybe I’ll do it tomorrow.

  14. nebdem says:

    last night I watched on Netflix the first episode of a new TV series “The Fall.” It stars Gillian Anderson and takes place in the UK (I think). Anyways, in it she is a lead investigator called into breathe new life the investigation about a murder, possible serial killer. I have to say that it was really morbid. The way the show is set up is it is split in half from the point of view of the serial killer and the investigator. It is so creepy to watch the serial killer because he has a family and kids and seems to have a normal family life, but the guy is a frakking freak sicko. Check it out if you like crime shows, but I warn you it is tough because they do a really good job of making it so frakked up.

    • Jack says:

      sounds good—gray areas rule the world. Ultimately of course and EVIL SOB remains an EVIL SOB.

      • nebdem says:

        It was tough to watch because of how sick the serial killer is, there are some scenes in the show that relate to him and his family that are so messed up that it in some ways is more horrifying than the actual crime, as weird as that sounds.

    • Haruko Haruhara says:

      We just got “Lincoln” in the mail.

  15. Jack says:

    That’s it i’m not being political for the rest of the night—do let that stop you, I fond it constructive. I just feel like I may get mean if keep on going on about libs.

    • BoyInBOYCOTT says:

      I don’t wilt under critique, I also don’t get crushed when politicians have feet of clay, and act political. Clinton and Wellstone disappointed me far more than Obama. I never imagined Obama was a flaming liberal, he is a centrist, and has to be coerced and pushed by liberals to move left. Clinton (both of them) are corporate Democrats DLC types. Hillary isn’t a militant feminist, she was a Republican in college, and she was a lawyer working for Walmart (which routinely paid women workers LESS, and promoted them LESS.)

    • MSII says:

      “do let that stop you”

      was that a Freudian-slip?

  16. nebdem says:

    Rats 😦 I got a email from the site I sent those poems to and they declined. Now I need to write some more and send them in to them. This isn’t over yet. The Klingon Empire is not going to yield so easily.

    • Haruko Haruhara says:

      Oh, I’m sorry. What do they know?

      • nebdem says:

        Well, to their credit they’ve been around for over a 100 years in publishing. I was hesitant about sending in something else before hearing back on what I already submitted, but if I keep sending them things then if they like what I sent they may change their mind on what I wrote previously, this is all hope though, but it is the only way to go right now. There are a few other sites I’m looking at, but this one is a really good one. Back to the pen and paper.

    • Coppernicus says:

      Bummer. I waved again as I sat in rush hour, hopefully you didn’t caught in the 3 car on I80 and 13th. There is some serious rush hour there, how big is Omaha?

      • nebdem says:

        Hi, Coppernicus! Omaha is close to a hundred square miles with a population in the mid 400,000. Rush hour can get bad in the middle and the western edge of the city, it usually slows down after 6 on the weekdays.

        • Coppernicus says:

          Yesterday it seemed like it ran from Lincoln clear to Iowa.

          • nebdem says:

            That is the main corridor of business in Nebraska, Lincoln to Omaha. There is a lot of people commuting to Omaha that live in the regions between, those are the only two big cities with decent jobs. They’ve been trying for years to fill in the region between Lincoln and Omaha and make it accessible in the future to a high speed rail. It does get busy during the morning and evening commute. It’s been awhile since I’ve been on I80 past city limits.

    • Persistence pays off – keep at it, neb.

  17. Lizard Island says:

    I like the ECCO bike rental thing, Jack. I saw those in Vienna as well. Simple, heavy duty street bikes with no bling so less likely to be stolen. You can pick them up and drop them off at different rental bike rack stations throughout the city.
    The Google campus in Mountain View, CA has tons of Google colored bikes for the employees. They are painted in the multi-Google colors and are easily distinguishable.
    Looking at an FFR Trike myself…$12,000 for the Alpha, though. 40 miles an hour and a good range of about 100-160 miles. Guy was pulling a bike trailer with 350 pounds of lumber with one at 30 mph.
    http://www.outriderusa.com/Outrider-USA-422-Alpha-p/transition422alpha.htm

  18. nebdem says:

    Is that a fish or a mermaid in the bottle in the background?

Comments are closed.