Don’t Tread On Me


4thofjulybg

“The second day of July, 1776, will be the most memorable epoch in the history of America. I am apt to believe that it will be celebrated by succeeding generations as the great anniversary festival. It ought to be commemorated as the day of deliverance, by solemn acts of devotion to God Almighty. It ought to be solemnized with pomp and parade, with shows, games, sports, guns, bells, bonfires, and illuminations, from one end of this continent to the other, from this time forward forever more.”–John Adams 

What is America?  I know you expect me to do the ole,” well to so and so it means this and that”—-No today you get what I think (HA!  Score one for the realm autocrat) I see America as a BIG ASS round table; in a circle there is no end nor beginning so preferential seating is not supposed to be an issue. In the Hodgepodge of democracy bellies are supposed to be filled and everyone is supposed to be able to get a piece of the pie; unfortunately greasy gluttons snap at everything in sight, they rather die than see you even get the crumbs. I could go on about greed but this is not that kind of post.

I can guide this convo to be egghead in structure and argue: are we really free? Where are our freedoms? Yes, we often fall short of our most sacred documents…

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness. That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed, That whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the Right of the People to alter or to abolish it, and to institute new Government, laying its foundation on such principles and organizing its powers in such form, as to them shall seem most likely to effect their Safety and Happiness.” 
― Thomas Jefferson, The Declaration of Independence

But even with an eavesdropping, peeping Tom Uncle Sam, a belligerent Supreme Court (the South shall riiiiiise again!) and the GOP trying to regulate women’s vaginas (something they know nothing about—don’t throw your burning bras at me or get Alan Alda to beat me up, I know the issue is about women’s choice not sexuality—I do vote democrat you know?) I would probably say that any day I wake up and there is not a soldier’s bayonet shoved-up my ass is resplendent in freedom.

I’ve already done the Norman Rockwell depiction of the Fourth of July on a previous blog, recalling wiping ice cream from the noses of the numerous rug rats in uncle Jack’s army, running around, tossing a Frisbee, getting thanked on good old imported beer, stuffing myself like a hog on BBQ hog, watching my wife’s face as she thinks, G-d don’t let him be an ass, G-d don’t let him be an ass, G-d don’t let him be an ass—-It would be easier if she began with the realization that I may just be an ass.

I want to talk about all of those things…but I guess I just did–your turn. HAPPY FOURTH OF JULY REALM PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

About Jack Cassidy

Don't worry I'm not trying to be a Legitimate blogger.........no time for it and no money in it, just have fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

381 Responses to Don’t Tread On Me

  1. Haruko Haruhara says:

    Thank goodness, only supposed to be about 90 F today.

  2. BoyInBOYCOTT says:

    hey cg and Haruko, happy 4th

  3. BoyInBOYCOTT says:

    I made another twitter acount based on Pirate Princess Pickle Bunny

  4. BoyInBOYCOTT says:

    Found a chihuahua 4th of July AV

  5. BoyInBOYCOTT says:

    oy, I stuffed myself with rice and chow mein…it was DELISH

  6. nebdem says:

    Happy 4th of July!

  7. BoyInBOYCOTT says:

    Chop Suey – Flower Drum Song

    I Enjoy Being A Girl Flower Drum Song Movie

    Miyoshi Umeki – A Hundred Million Miracles

    • nebdem says:

      Hi, BIB! How are you doing today? Got any plans for tonight?

      • BoyInBOYCOTT says:

        holding Gina as fireworks work her last nerve.
        Do you have plans?

        • nebdem says:

          I plan on going over to my Sister’s and watching the fireworks their neighbors shoots off, eating food but probably no drinking tonight.

  8. BoyInBOYCOTT says:

    West Side Story-Gym Mambo

    AFI #35 – America – West Side Story (1961) – Rita Moreno, George Chakiris, & Cast

    West Side Story-A Boy Like That

    West Side Story-Somewhere

  9. nebdem says:

    “Joey ‘Jaws’ Chestnut destroys 69 franks, devours his own record at ‘Nathan’s Famous’”
    http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2013/jul/4/joey-jaws-chestnut-destroys-69-franks-devours-his-/

    • Haruko Haruhara says:

      Yuck! I can’t watch those. I remember once being in a restaurant and there was a hot dog eating contest on the big screen and everyone begged them to please change the channel. It was ruining everyone’s appetite.

    • BoyInBOYCOTT says:

      ugh

  10. BoyInBOYCOTT says:

    Cleo Laine and Ray Charles – Porgy and Bess medley from the 70s

    • BoyInBOYCOTT says:

      *showtunes for all occasions
      “The Farmer and The Cowman” Dance Sequence – R&H’s Oklahoma!

      I Caint Say No Oklahoma

      Soliloquy Carousel – Julian Ovenden PROMS 2010

      Music Man, The (1962) — (Movie Clip) Seventy Six Trombones

  11. BoyInBOYCOTT says:

    BARBRA STREISAND before the parade passes by

    Louis Armstrong – Hello Dolly Live

  12. nebdem says:

    I’ll be back later, Have fun!

  13. This is a fly-by…(if badgers could fly) and Happy Fourth to you all. Here’s an article I really enjoyed- just one page. Maybe you’ll like it too. ❤ I’ll probably be here a bit later- stuff to get done. Hugs.

  14. Haruko Haruhara says:

    Got our first brush fire started by fireworks tonight. Sigh….

Comments are closed.