Preserve Anonymity


For me the Huffington Post addiction ended  long ago. It was the place that I went to find some liberal-minded discourse, the kind of would get you in trouble in real life. Anonymity served  this purpose, not having to worry if I posted my opinion on healthcare issues, the business side, that I may suffer retaliation from business contacts. Anonymity made it easy for me to get to know individuals in the Huffington Post community – yes, that also meant dealing with people on the other side of the spectrum.

Of course on such a mega-forum one is bound to encounter the dreaded Internet troll. We all have a similar definition for  trolls although often the term is applied to people who come to a blog to fill a need and disturb everyone. Ultimately the reason I left, I use the term loosely, the Huffington Post was not because of political trolls or individuals whose friendship went sour and became far worse than  the stereotypical troll.

I left because increasingly Huffington Post sought to  stymie  mature discourse. This was even before AOL purchasing HP, from day one I noticed that simple words would send one’s comment into pending or worse yet purgatory. After flame war started by a few deranged minds, Huffington took an aggressive  stance to prevent idiots like FUNKY (the idiot with the Colin Farrell avatar) from continuously spamming their post on  all threads (this is not make-believe it is the reason why a comment cannot be reposted)

Now there is the new policy against poster anonymity. We saw  how  after Arianna  Huffington  made a “RED LINE”  comment stating that anonymity would end at the Huffington Post it was  muddled, skewed and in time we  got a   series of conflicting reports of what it meant.

So why should I care? I’m hardly   there as it is and when I am- I can’t take the place seriously. The reason I care is the same reason I cared when people left HP in droves over the AOL purchase – It’s the community there that matters, and his new policy just like before threatened them.

But it gets worse, it’s one thing for them to have a shitty  business model it’s another when they are trying to influence the way discourse is done across the Internet. I think we need to  fight this as we would   SOPA or any other bills proposed to in fact control what we say and do online.

About Jack Cassidy

Don't worry I'm not trying to be a Legitimate blogger.........no time for it and no money in it, just have fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

455 Responses to Preserve Anonymity

  1. JediWoman says:

    Saw your comment on HuffPo, Jack, and I am really sorry to see you go. There are fewer and fewer reasonable people there. I used to enjoy the comments … didn’t even post for a long time. But the arseholes got under my skin, so I finally registered so I could post my own 2 cents. I would love to keep tabs on your site here – if only to keep myself anchored to sanity.

    Agree on the mods. too. I am never insulting (at least in my own opinion – ha ha ha) and yet my comments get sent to eternal damnation. Lately, the acronym “RWNJ” is enough to get your post deleted. I keep seeing posts from the “other guys” that are annoying (but not objectionable as far as the policy) and they get deleted, too. Frankly, I’d much rather “have my way” with a flaming homophobe or misogynist than see his post get deleted by the mods. Give em plenty of rope to hang themselves with their own stupidity, I say.

    Anyway – I haven’t reached my tolerance point yet with HuffPo, but it might happen sooner than I think.

    • Haruko Haruhara says:

      Hai, Jedi

    • Jack says:

      Hi Jedi, WELCOME!

      I haven’t popped my account yet I just can’t support their current ideology of forcing people to ID themselves to them just because HP is attempting to be SEEN as a legitimate news source.

      This is all coming from the AOL and possibly Ariana herself. I understand that it is their site and they have the right to run it the way they like, as a matter of fact I have supported their right to do this when the merger happened and a huge number of HPers left. What is bothering me now is that I think they are in fact trying to influence the way they way discourse is done across the internet.

      Many news sources have comment sections that are vibrant; they have trolls but what they don’t have is the rampant problem HP has, the reason is that they were never a tabloid like HP to begin with. What others like the NY Times have is credibility. HP is still a news aggregation blog no matter what, if they have high aspirations they need to prosecute the trouble makers and hire reporters to bring original content.

    • Hi, Jedi! Welcome aboard.

  2. Jack says:

    Hey guys Jedi is an HPer I met last night and is totally cool.

  3. nebdem says:

    Greetings! How is everyone doing on this wonderful day?

    • Jack says:

      Hi Nebster—what did you do yesterday and how many cops it took to stop you?

      • nebdem says:

        Hey, Jack! I had a fantasy football draft and then watched the weak-ass Nebraska Cornhuskers also get beat by the Wyoming Cowboys, no trouble with the law though, thankfully. How is your weekend going?

  4. PagingStaff says:

    Did I hear turkey chili? Looks like I finally figured this out just in time 🙂

  5. PagingStaff says:

    ‘ello nebdem!

  6. PagingStaff says:

    Enjoying this lovely weekend I hope?

    • nebdem says:

      It has been a long one, but I have enjoyed it. How has your weekend going? College Football fan?

      Quick note: You can respond to comments by clicking on “Reply,” it will open up a new comment box that will allow you to respond to the comment above, instead of writing a new comment.

      • PagingStaff says:

        Ahhhh! Thank you for the reply tip!
        I try to be a college fan, I really do…but shiny things seem to distract me on Saturdays.

        • nebdem says:

          I’m from Nebraska and college football is the State religion, sometimes it can be too excruciating to watch because they play so stupid at times, last night they almost lost to Wyoming. Tension is high here after that ordeal.

          What type of shiny things distract you?

  7. PagingStaff says:

    I am well, thanks! I bumped into you with a majQa’ on a comment. 🙂 Glad jackhole let me know I might be welcome here, even as a, well, n00b.

    • nebdem says:

      Are you fleeing the tyranny of the Huffington Post? You will always be welcome here. I’ll warn you now, Jack likes to insinuate that Battlestar Galactica is better than Star Trek, which it is not- nor will it ever be. Soon, he may even try to enlist you to help him spread his lies about Cylons, don’t buy into his propaganda.

    • Jack says:

      Hey pull up a chair and post freely. I’ll send you an email soon as an intro to me and the realm — something I do as a welcome to the realm.

      • PagingStaff says:

        Thanks Jack! I really appreciate it. Trying to find a warm fuzzy place since I fear HuffPo may pull the rug out from under me (or anyone) at any moment, without warning.

  8. nebdem says:

    A quick note: You can post links to Youtube here, PagingStaff, but when you post them make certain that you write a few things either before the link or after the link, that way the link will not embed on the page. Embeds on the page slows the refresh down for several of the users on the site.

    • PagingStaff says:

      Thanks for another tip! I think I should be taking notes…hmmm…snuggie, with youtube write words, try to watch more college football for stimulating convo…OOOOOO — my girl just found a dragonbone mace!
      (sorry – shiny – what was I saying?)

  9. nebdem says:

    Darn 😦
    I have to run a few errands. I hate to leave so soon after meeting you, PagingStaff. I will be back later. I hope that a few of the other Realmsters get in here and introduce themselves to you.

  10. Jack says:

    I need to post a new page any suggestions?

  11. PagingStaff says:

    Are you hoping to welcome refugees? Or not so much?

    • Jack says:

      This site is open to all, the more the merrier. I’ve been working in up grading it but will wait to see if there’s a need get more bell and whistles or keeping it simple either way It will change.

      • PagingStaff says:

        Was just thinking a newcomer tips page might be fun/handy as a suggestion. Ya know, throw a blanket over our shoulders, show us the ropes with Gravitar, how to post a youtube, why/why not to link your main wordpress to your anonymous posting freewheeling identity…stuff like that. 🙂

        • Jack says:

          I can do that better than the angry HP post I was thinking about –gimme 10 minutes or so.

        • Haruko Haruhara says:

          The biggest things to know are how not to embed YouTube videos, how to find where everyone is posting (which is pretty easy), and how not to break a page.

          • PagingStaff says:

            Okay. nebdem was nice enough to give me the YouTube tip. FInding where everyone is posting = right hand side menu? And as far as how not to break a page? Clueless right here. Sorry.

            • Haruko Haruhara says:

              OK, good and good.

              The biggest thing to remember is occasionally for obscure reasons, a comment will get hung up in moderation, some WordPress glitches. Whatever you do, do not reply to your own comment that has gone into moderation. It will break the entire thread. Just leave a note, “hey one of my comments went to moderation.”

              • PagingStaff says:

                Okay, thanks so much! I’ll try my very bestest to remember all this and not fork up. I’m just so happy to see these familiar names that I’ve enjoyed reading! I lurked for some time after signing up at HP after reading for longer, and (it figures) just recently burst out of my shell. My timing is impeccable. Just glad I found the invite and hope not to embarrass myself too terribly.

    • Haruko Haruhara says:

      Hello!

  12. PagingStaff says:

    Waiting for chinese food delivery. Why does it always take so long?

  13. BoyInBOYCOTT says:

    evening all

  14. Ricki Lee says:

    Good Evenin’, beautiful Realmsters!

    This just showed up on the HP Rock Star thread! hmmmmmmm
    ___________________________________________________________
    HUFFPOST BLOGGER
    CommunityAdvocateLaurene
    60 Fans
    Become a fan
    3 minutes ago ( 8:10 PM)
    Hey all!

    My name is Laurene Lee and, I will be your Community Advocate for the evening! I am here to engage in some great discussion with you fine folks as well as, answer any questions you may have about the Community here on The Huffington Post.

    Happy Commenting!

    Laurene Lee

  15. BoyInBOYCOTT says:

    Nice to see the new faces, welcome to the Realm.

Comments are closed.