Happy Rosh Hashanah!


I can’t believe another year has flown by in the blink of an eye. Of course I mean that Rosh Hashanah the Jewish New Year- is here again.

I am not Jewish nor am I a believer in a divine creator. But neither of those things prevents me from celebrating the very human tenets that Rosh Hashanah and the high holidays brings.

Reflecting on the events of the passing year both of a personal nature or in general can cause a sense of desperation. Economic and social unrest, natural disasters, conflicts in the Middle East and around the world but one must never lose sight of the joys, love and camaraderie we have not only in 3-D life but, equally as valuable, what we seek and build online.

This is a time also to think about others and to help one another because we all have only bought a brief time in this blue sphere of ours. Should you need to talk to someone you know how to find me, it would be my honor to be there for you.

Wishing you all Jewish and non-Jewish friends a happy, healthy and prosperous new year.

Shana Tova!

About Jack Cassidy

Don't worry I'm not trying to be a Legitimate blogger.........no time for it and no money in it, just have fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

352 Responses to Happy Rosh Hashanah!

  1. RF Dude says:

    McCain says “Not Enough War”.

    I’d rather he says “Not Enough Cowbell”. I could get behind that one. The other one, not so much…

  2. BoyInBOYCOTT says:

    WHEW I finally have all my family’s bible records entered into my Family genealogy website, which tracks back to my great grandparent’s parents. When I was about 10 yo my grandmother’s (from both sides) helped me fill out the family tree in a bible my God Parents gave me.
    For any younger folks, get your older relatives to sit with you, and get as much info as they can recall. Going over family photos would be good to get them labeled too.

    • BoyInBOYCOTT says:

      My paternal grandfather had a sister that was a HUGE genealogy nut, and she was VERY concerned about her maiden name dying out, so she gave my mother and my aunt 50 bucks every time they had a son, she gave NOTHING when my girl cousin was born.
      When that great aunt died, her spiteful daughter broke into her home and BURNT all the genealogy records….out of SPITE, (because my father was named the executer of her mother’s will.)

      • BoyInBOYCOTT says:

        She had records back about 5 generations,because my grandfather’s first and middle name was carried down through 5 generations

        • bubbagumpy says:

          BB, that is such a tragedy. I do a lot of family genealogy and I faced a different problem — the brick wall syndrome. One generation completely severed all ties with anyone from the older generations. Ironically, it’s the federal U.S. Census that helped me the most in repairing the gaps! Prior to 1850, American records are almost useless as it’s only the head of household that is named; all other family members are noted in column dashes. However, genealogists convinced Congress to change that and now each individual is recorded, which makes matching up a family of Joe Smith’s much more accurate! That’s good from 1850 to 1940; however, the 1890 census was partially destroyed (I think by fire). Facts like how long has a couple has been married, how many children born versus children still living, birth states of themselves and both parents, addresses, employment, race, education level, etc., can do a lot to help connect the dots!

        • bubbagumpy says:

          Also, when doing a computer search, be prepared for misspellings and shifts in the family name between spellings in America and from the home country. Some very strange stuff got recorded in years prior to public education! I often key on the male head of household for one simple reason — his name never changes due to marriage. However, if there is a misspelling in the official records, try searching for the wife or a child and see if the records pop up for the whole family.

  3. Jack says:

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!NEW PAGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    ⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇

    https://jackholesrealm.wordpress.com/2013/09/04/dogs-of-war/

Comments are closed.