A New Day!


5160868-intense-sun-on-a-bright-orange-background

Dragonfly out in the sun, you know what I mean, don’t you know,
Butterflies all havin’ fun, you know what I mean.
Sleep in peace when day is done: that’s what I mean,
And this old world is a new world and a bold world for me…

Stars when you shine, you know how I feel
Scent of the pine, you know how I feel
Yeah, freedom is mine, and I know how I feel..
It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new life for me
[scat]
And I’m feelin’… good.

—NINA SIMONE 

About Jack Cassidy

Don't worry I'm not trying to be a Legitimate blogger.........no time for it and no money in it, just have fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

467 Responses to A New Day!

  1. MSII says:

    The Return of the 19th Century (reich-wingers, and their “policies” taking us backward into their gilded-age) http://www.dailykos.com/story/2013/09/30/1242221/-The-Return-of-the-19th-Century?detail=email

  2. PocoJorge says:

    The MNsure plans look pretty good, I wonder if I qualify. A lot less than I’m paying now.

  3. PocoJorge says:

    Frankly I just don’t know how I’m going to get through without panda cam broadcasting from the National Zoo. #governmentshutdown
    Oh for the love of humanity….

  4. PocoJorge says:

    What?
    My WhiteHouse on google+ isn’t going to be updated! Now I’m mad.

  5. termgirl says:

    “….what has to be resisted is any idea that this is government or politics as usual. It is an attack on the governance and the constitutional order of the United States.”
    http://dish.andrewsullivan.com/2013/10/01/the-nullification-party/ .

    Catch you guys, later.

  6. majorwiblit says:

    Salon / By Brian Beutler
    The Humiliated, Bizarre Republican Party: What Happens Next

    Yep, they really shut the government down. How does this mess end — and will a debt limit showdown be even worse?
    http://www.alternet.org/humiliated-bizarre-republican-party-what-happens-next

  7. PocoJorge says:

    What’s up with this shit?
    Due to the Federal government shutdown,
    NOAA.gov and most associated web sites
    are unavailable.

  8. waverly says:

    Hey guys,
    Saw this on HP. Explains the absurdity of the working of the modern day House of Representatives, and what can be done to fix this. I am going to investigate more, sounds like a plan I could get behind.
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/rob-richie/blame-it-on-winner-take-a_b_4025860.html

  9. PocoJorge says:

    Crap I tell ya, crap.
    Because of the federal government shutdown, all national parks are closed and National Park Service webpages are not operating. For more information, go to http://www.doi.gov.

  10. waverly says:

    They deleted CG’s post regarding hardwoody. (I guess I didn’t help by egging them on, asking what they were going to do about it.)

    • majorwiblit says:

      good,,,fu*king a$$whole

      good evening Wav,,,Poco!

    • majorwiblit says:

      sorry,,,read that wrong
      Its what they do,,the mighty fu*kin HuffPuff doesn’t like to be called out
      their mods suck

      • waverly says:

        Exactly.

        • majorwiblit says:

          The 2 or 3 times I’ve been put on a “time out” its trying to shut down these rude
          asswholes on the thread,,I complain to much,,and I get punished
          f’ em

      • waverly says:

        CG put a post on our “favorite” thread. I saw it posted. Then later I went back and it was gone. Rats !!! I should have copied it, good post. I hope she saved it somewhere, not that it matters any I guess, sigh …

        • majorwiblit says:

          Its what they do,,that “thread”,,is where I meet a lot of you guys,,and Jack invited me
          to come here,,and for that I am happy 🙂 but afterward my post there never showed
          up,,so I won’t go back again,,screw em

  11. J@*k says:

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!NEW PAGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    follow the link below
    ⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇

    https://jackholesrealm.wordpress.com/2013/10/01/government-by-terrorism/

  12. majorwiblit says:

    back in a bit

  13. nebdem says:

    I turned on Cspan last night as the clock neared midnight and watched the House and the Senate debate this issue. From what I watched I got the impression that both sides really wanted to avoid the shutdown in spirit (though that may all have been just the gamesmanship from both sides), but even so they lacked the temerity to actually keep the debate going on both floors, though it wouldn’t have led to any change, the fact they they can so simply leave after the decision was reached that the government was shutting down, is telling in several ways.

    Whether we blame one side or not is not my main gripe right now. Think of it this way. How many people have you known in your life and career that have had to stay late because of the needs of their job? Why should Congress be allowed to up and leave when their main task isn’t completed?

    This affirms to me as to which you are already aware of that the Congress is so far out of touch with the people it represents that it is bordering on willful negligence, more likely already past that point.

    The House is a fiasco, but in truth the House should be a messy place. That there is one faction of the House that has brought the government to a shutdown is troubling, but there are mechanisms in place to brace for such an eventuality. The overriding concern is that communication needs to remain open between both sides. The Republicans now want a conference, but were unwilling the 18 previous times the Democrats brought that to their attention, So, now they want to conference, pfft. Nevertheless, there are means to keep communication going, as bad as it is that it has reached this point, at the least there is a means to get out of it.

    As much as I want to blame the House for all of this, the House is only allowed to behave in such a fashion because the Senate is a broken body. The main problems of governance now in our country spring from the inability of the Senate to act as a more mature branch of the Congress, which was their initial responsibility, hence the reasons why there aren’t so many of them. The Senate in theory was supposed to oversee treaties and foreign policy decisions, and to craft legislation representative of the whole electorate, not for any particular group when the whole needs of the society are taken into account. Yes, there are legitimate cases where the Senate should act on the behalf of a particular group under certain situations, but overall they are supposed to enact legislation that is healthy to the whole.

    The only solution to the problem we have now is not to redefine the House rules, though that would be nice, the fact is that the Republican majority in the House is protected by sinecure, citadels; as defined by gerrymandering. I don’t like gerrymandering, I saw it destroy the 2nd Congressional District in Nebraska, but that is how the game is played on the local level.

    As much as I detest the Republicans, I have to admit that I wish the Democrats were are solid when Bush was the President.

    The solution to the problem ultimately is to strip the People the ability to vote directly the Senate, revert it back to what was initially an indirect election made by the state governments, but then again with the game being played the way it is done now, that would probably cause more problems. So, in the end the only way to really change things is to remove the lobbyist influence in the Senate to the degree that all Senate elections are publicly financed. Watching Cspan and having thought about this over the last couple of years it is clear that the Senate is broken, and that it is broken it creates an imbalance which the House has been able to exploit. Senators spend so much time raising campaign funds that they don’t even really know each other any more, thus compromise is practically impossible unless led by the senior members of the Senate.

    Ted Cruz is a perfect example, the idiot rails that the Senate when he joined had a “defeatist attitude,” because he feels that the Republicans in the Senate aren’t trying to further solely Republican wants and needs. Well, Ted, sorry to break it to you but the Senate is a body that should remain above the gutter level partisan battles. But since campaign funds and lobbyist have such clout in the Senate now, the Senate now has devolved into the child like atmosphere of the partisan battles in the House.

    There is more I wish to say, but I’ll leave it at that.

Comments are closed.