They Way Things Are…And Will Be


About Jack Cassidy

Don't worry I'm not trying to be a Legitimate blogger.........no time for it and no money in it, just have fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

521 Responses to They Way Things Are…And Will Be

  1. Hello, The Realm!

    Can anyone tell me why I had dreams of being chased by turkeys?

  2. waverly says:

    Hey there Realmies !!!
    Here are my top movie picks for next month listed as they should be) by director:

    The Coen brothers – “Inside Llewyn Davis” – Dec 6
    A classic Joel and Ethan dark comedy starring Oscar Isaac as an aspiring singer-songwriter navigating the folk music scene of New York’s Greenwich Village in the early 1960s. Bob Dylan-level success proves difficult for him to achieve as he encounters quirky fellow Manhattanites played by Carey Mulligan and Justin Timberlake.

    David O Russell [“The Fighter”, “Silver Linings Playbook”] – “American Hustle” – Dec 13
    Story of the FBI’s inquiry into the widespread political corruption in the 1970s known as Abscam. Christian Bale, Amy Adams, Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper don outrageous ‘70s outfits to play the cops and crooks whose intersecting agendas ultimately helped expose the scandal.

    Spike Jonze [“Being John Malkovich”, “Adaptation”] – “Her”- Dec 18
    A welcome return for Jonze to Malkovich territory, starring Joaquin Phoenix as a man who has at least three gorgeous flesh-and-blood women in his life – played by Amy Adams, Rooney Mara, and Olivia Wilde – yet would rather pursue a romance with his computer’s operating system because he is smitten with its sensitive Siri-like voice (Scarlett Johanssen).

    Scorsese – “The Wolf of Wall Street” – Dec 25
    Depicts the heady days of the prosperous 1990s, when cash-flushed securities brokers like Jordan Belfort (Leonardo DiCaprio) made a killing by ignoring financial regulations and breaking the law.

  3. algebrapalin says:

    stabbed in the car park of wal mart: priceless

    • Hi, AP! And so, the insanity proceeds.

    • termgirl says:

      Sigh…..
      Hi ap.

    • Ricki Lee says:

      Horrible. Watching the vids of shoppers storming shop fronts actually brought tears to my eyes. Perhaps, if people weren’t so strapped these days, we’d have a better chance of fighting back, collectively, by bringing their sales figures down. The pizza hut manager is on my list of heroes right now!

      • Haruko Haruhara says:

        Yeah, I don’t make fun of these people. I just find the whole thing sad.

        • termgirl says:

          I remember a few years ago reading about a stampede in a store for Zulu Pets.
          Seriously… Just my opinion, but I think people need to get past thinking that have to have the latest lame item that is “the thing to buy” during the holidays.
          I can appreciate that they want some electronic item at a very reduced price, but why not find something else at the same price that you can purchase without getting caught up the madness? I just don’t understand it, and I never will.

          • Ricki Lee says:

            Of course, it’s the retailers who are driving this frenzy. But when we had Xbox /PS3 game systems for 80 bucks or more off and new release games, 30 bucks off, there is simply no substitute. It’s a damned material world we live in – and only a couple of retailers even do layaways anymore. That’s the ticket if you ask me – they should all start doing layaway again and take this pressure off consumers. I think many would rather pay a little more and pay it off over time than fight those crowds even for a few bucks off. I encouraged it as much as I could.

            • RF Dude says:

              Layaways don’t fit the store model these days – they have slim margins on “stuff” and only make money moving inventory through the store as fast as possible. They need the payoff immediately, like so many other services (doctors, dentists, etc.) and use the consumer’s credit-card to pass the load to the consumer.

              And corporate directors never see the madness of mall shopping, or encourage it as “something good”…

              Yeah, I don’t understand that mentality either.

              • MSII says:

                the corporate-fix, worse then heroin! Worse then meth-addiction! so it is with our sick “capitalism”, glad to see the new pope even pointing it out!

            • termgirl says:

              I hear you, RL.
              My point is that people can live without a lot of these things. I know we all want to get our kids their heart’s desires, but I just never got caught up in giving things that they think they have to have. Maybe I wasn’t the “cool mom,” but I think I taught them an important lesson. My son didn’t have to have “Air Jordans,” (those were a “must-have” item when he was in middle school,) to be well-liked. Yeah… he was upset at the time, but he got over it.

              • Ricki Lee says:

                I agree, tg. I’ve never been one to succumb to the latest fashion trends – games, clothes, electronics, etc. Most of it is throwaway chit anyways – poor quality junk. And in these past couple of years, my kids have been grateful with whatever I’ve been able to give them vs. being faced with nothing at all. Re: Air Jordans – Another reason I was glad they were in private school and wore uniforms – it really took the emphasis off the latest fad wear and believe it or not saved me money even though I was paying tuition with three girls in the house that stuff gets way expensive.

          • RF Dude says:

            The conditioning is strong in many people, TG. I can still remember the tug of getting out to buy something for the child, the twinge of guilt that he might be disapppointed (pure projection, he never was) but my overwhelming desire to avoid such crowd-catastrophes always won out.

            Guess I don’t fit well into a “herd” mentality…

      • algebrapalin says:

        HI, RICKI!!!
        i dunno if it’s people being strapped for cash so much as people being programmed.
        buying a big screen on black friday is stupid, anyway. if you survive the rush to get into the store, you still risk your life and limb getting it into the house. (reference; the guy in las vegas who was shot for his telly).

        • Haruko Haruhara says:

          I knew people who would get up at 4 a.m. the day after Thanksgiving to hit the malls. I don’t get it. There’s less stressful ways to save money.

          • algebrapalin says:

            i’ve done it twice to accompany someone.
            i can’t do it. 1. i have anxiety attacks when i get into large crowds. 2. i’m ignorant. if i get pushed that early in the morning, i’m fighting.

            • MSII says:

              I heard there were actual shootings (mentioned on PBS Newshour), people were that worked up, it’s total insanity! I will -never- put myself through that insanity. When your actual life is in danger for what, -shopping-!?! This country, ever time I think now this is it, it HAS jumped the shark, but nope, always a new level of batshit-crazy…

              • algebrapalin says:

                if people are doing this, you can’t be surprised by shootings and stabbings.
                lol. saving money at the store, just to give that money to the surgeon to mend your wounds.

        • Ricki Lee says:

          Whatever it is Algebra, I think the chit needs to STOP! If retailers can charge these prices on Black Friday, then they can charge them any day of the week. AND their ruining Thanksgiving for families and friends needs to stop, too!! The only holiday we can celebrate across the board in this country – smh –

          • algebrapalin says:

            i dunno if this is recent, but i heard something on the radio today about Thanksgiving being dubbed ‘brown thursday.’ i’ve been in the states for about 7 years; never heard the term before, so i think thanksgiving is pretty much over. it’s just brown thursday and black friday.
            it’s definitely disheartening.

            • Ricki Lee says:

              I agree, I think it is the recent and new retailer mentality. Pretty soon it will be light brown Wednesday!
              Where are you from?

              • algebrapalin says:

                wales.

                • Ricki Lee says:

                  I love Wales! I grew up outside of London in Bucks/Berks counties and dated a guy whose mother was from the Cardiff area. He had a friend who to uni in Swansea (he went to Bristol) and we used to visit his family and friends there quite often. Sorry to go on – but it’s a beautiful country with breathtaking scenery. Also, where we got several of our dogs! What brought you to the US?

                • algebrapalin says:

                  my parents can’t stay in one place. they came to america, bought a house, stayed for 2 years, then up and left me here in maryland to go back home. this is right after i graduated university (university of maryland).

                • Ricki Lee says:

                  Glad you stayed? There’s a lot to be said for the way of life over there imo. I know it’s not all peaches and cream over there but I think we still have some learnin’ to do from our neighbors across the pond. 😉

                • algebrapalin says:

                  i’m glad i stayed, until summer comes round.
                  i STILL can’t get accustomed to the heat. i don’t think i ever will.

                • Ricki Lee says:

                  You and me both!! Especially, the darn humidity down here in FL. I stay inside more than I like in summer. 😦

                • algebrapalin says:

                  OMG! i’ve suffered through that florida heat.
                  i think of FL as a beautiful inferno.

                • Ricki Lee says:

                  You think RIGHT!! 😀

      • USAGramma says:

        I heard today they decided to hire him back!

    • Ricki Lee says:

      oops…. Hi, Algebra!

  4. termgirl says:

    Hello, Realm.
    I usually watch “Trading Places” at holiday time.
    Seeing the Duke brothers lose their asses never gets old.
    Hope you all had an enjoyable Thanksgiving.

    • Ricki Lee says:

      Hi, tg. Great to see you (posted up yonder, too)!
      I sooo agree! Although, my mind has substituted them for the Kochs. One can dream, right?

  5. fi says:

    Beddy-byes time, goodnight dear Realmfolk
    Thinking about you Fluff!

  6. Ricki Lee says:

    This is a shout out to a beautiful friend who was unable to be with us this Thanksgiving holiday. We miss you, dear friend and look forward to seeing you again soon! {{{BIG HUGS}}}

    Firework – Katy Perry
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QGJuMBdaqIw .

  7. coppernicus says:

    This always puts the mind at ease. At least we got through the Cold War.
    http://feedly.com/e/Z2Klg-aY

  8. Haruko Haruhara says:

    Hey Pluto, we saw Darth Vadar! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rkje4nxixrA

  9. Haruko Haruhara says:
  10. Bebe says:

    Good Evening everyone, just stopped by to say hello.

    Muppets ..http://youtu.be/ysIzPF3BfpQ

  11. termgirl says:

    Dodger’s announcer Vin Scully turns 86 today.
    Talk about career longevity.
    I spent many hours, growing up, listening to VS call Dodger games on the radio.
    He brought those games to life.

  12. Darth Pluto says:

    Bea’s Journey. Beatrix Kiddo, left for dead, brought back from the brink.
    http://imgur.com/a/1L3av

    That wasn’t a tear, I have allergies.

  13. USAGramma says:

    Where’s that HOBO???

  14. algebrapalin says:

    http://www.politico.com/story/2013/11/josh-romney-tweets-car-wreck-save-100478.html
    ———————-
    yet another reason why i don’t like the romneys; why i think they’re all pieces of shit, and serve no evolutionary purpose.

  15. waverly says:

    I’ve just been perusing the good ol’ Netflix selection, which I haven’t done in ages. And I see they have one of my all time favorite movies directed by Christopher Nolan. Back in 2000 before he did the Batman trilogy or Inception, he did one of the most mind-bending movies I’ve ever seen. The name of it is Memento, and it stars Guy Pierce and Carrie Ann Moss (Trinity from Matrix). It was a little art house flick when I saw it. I walked into the theater knowing absolutely nothing about it, and left the theater with my mind totally blown. To this day I’m still arguing with friends over what really happened in that movie. It is Infinitely better than Inception, and definitely worth a couple hours if you’ve never seen it. (Be fore-warned that you need to watch it totally uninterrupted, and pay close attention). It’s a better experience if you see it without reading about it first.

  16. Haruko Haruhara says:

    Speaking of Mormons, we saw this beer in the Salt Lake City airport. I couldn’t believe a Utah brewery got away with this!! http://justbeer.files.wordpress.com/2008/04/wasatch-polygamy-porter-close-up.jpg

  17. FOUR EYES says:

    Greetings, Realmites!
    Back from nap, scrolling upstream….8-)

  18. USAGramma says:

    HOBO where aaaaaaaaaare you? HOBO I am loo-oo-oo-oo-ooking for you! 😕

  19. termgirl says:

    Bernie Sanders: “I’m an advocate of a single-payer national health care system, but it never occurred to me to bring down the United States government and cause pain for millions of workers because I can’t get my way.” –
    (I love how Bernie got his point across re: GOP / Tea Party without even mentioning them.)

  20. USAGramma says:

    I have to go for the night. Thanks, Realmsters, for another lovely day. When you see Jack, will you please ask him to e-mail Hobette and I will e back in the morning? I have a special request. Thanks!
    I wish happy dreams to all. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  21. Haruko Haruhara says:

    Yikes, below zero next week…

    … why did I come back?

  22. FOUR EYES says:

    Where, Haru??…I’m in WI….8-)

  23. FOUR EYES says:

    Did I miss everybody again?? I’m starting to feel like forpeace at times….8-)

  24. Jack says:

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!NEW PAGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    follow the link below
    ⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇

    https://jackholesrealm.wordpress.com/2013/11/29/castro-care/

Comments are closed.