On HuffPo: Was It Over When The Japanese Bombed Pear Harbor?


About Jack Cassidy

Don't worry I'm not trying to be a Legitimate blogger.........no time for it and no money in it, just have fun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

847 Responses to On HuffPo: Was It Over When The Japanese Bombed Pear Harbor?

  1. Darth Pluto says:

    Metallica ~ Master of Puppets http://youtu.be/tnGuLKXlX7A

  2. nebdem says:

    Greetings! Burr! It’s cold outside.

    • Lizard Island says:

      Hi Neb. Have to go in a bit. Talk later. Hope all is well.

    • Darth Pluto says:

      Nebbers! How goes the defense of Athens?

      • nebdem says:

        Greetings, Pluto! I didn’t get anything else written last night along that theme but I plan on doing a few of them tonight. I also found a new lecture series: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLauT0j6bFxr7a0LcyDvlBe5veRpBxtq4r ..

        • Bebe says:

          Evening Nebdem…how are you healing ?

          • nebdem says:

            Greetings, Bebe! Healing on schedule. The wound is closing, just need to avoid bumping it and risking a stitch breaking.

            How goes your day? What’s new?

            • Bebe says:

              On our topic…borrowed the latest Grisham…don’t know if you read him?
              I do read him from time to tine.

              On the other topic..if you read RFand others..we remain furious but this too shall pass…I am glad I am already here.

              • nebdem says:

                I haven’t read much of him but I like his stories, well the movie adaptations. He now has reached a point where if he wanted he could write whatever he wants and they would publish, that is luxury he should take advantage of.

                It makes me sick that HP did what they did, it is all about synergy with corporations, government. I’ve noticed reading through some of the comments that some of those posters that are staying are trying to be humorous about the whole thing, which is in a way trollish because people have legitimate reasons for not wanting their information made public. Reading the concerns in the comments clearly indicates that it will cause a problem for those still there in the future.

                • Bebe says:

                  That’s saying it…but they deserve all of it we were good for them but they trashed us.
                  But am here and reconnecting with you is a bonus for me.
                  No regrets !

                • nebdem says:

                  They now have to sleep in the bed they made. Their loss, if it gets really bad over there people in the future will be studying their decision in school in classes about running a site.

                  Last night I wrote a couple of poems on the last page, check them out and give me your thoughts.

        • Darth Pluto says:

          Thanks, I’ll prolly watch the Greek lectures first. Any of the same on Roman history?

            • Darth Pluto says:

              Sweet. Actually I’ll watch a few of these first, Julius Caesar in particular. What a fascinating character that guy was.

              • nebdem says:

                I have to ask, do you think it was tragic that he was killed? Shakespeare’s play and from the impression I’ve got is that many feel it was wrong what happened to him, but in truth the guy was destroying Rome when he decided he wanted to be a Dictator for life. A great general, his victory in Gaul is impressive, considering how few men he had and how he beat a force of superior in numbers. The Battle of Alesia was amazing, very ingenious strategy on his part.

                • Darth Pluto says:

                  My take is it’s a two way street. Caesar was a brilliant man, a master tactician, warrior, leader of men, the whole bit. He was also a megalomaniac and a despotic SOB, although some argue that he was a benevolent dictator because the people clearly loved him. Still, he destroyed the republic although Rome was no glittering jewel of nobility. Though they had banished the kings of old the Senate was rife with corruption. So it is easy to portray Caesar in a more noble light and his assassination as a sinister plot in that light.

                  At the end of the day a murdering despot was assassinated by venal, corrupt politicians protecting their own interests. Caesar indeed crossed the Rubicon but it may as well have been a river of blood. But what’s that old saying? “Kill one man, and you are a murderer. Kill millions of men, and you are a conqueror. Kill them all, and you are a god.”
                  Jean Rostand

                • nebdem says:

                  Great points. I’ve always been fascinated with the the ancient political office in Greek ad Rome for Augurs: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Augur
                  Caesar was even given that title.
                  Here is a great site with some of the works written during that time frame:http://www.fordham.edu/Halsall/ancient/asbook09.asp#Rome: Major Historians: Complete Texts

                  Have you read anything from Tacitus or Plutarch?

                • Darth Pluto says:

                  Thanks for the links, and no, I haven’t read much from those guys but I am familiar with them. the last bit of reading I did was on Marcus Aurelius, just scratching the surface mind you. That is a journey unto itself.

                • nebdem says:

                  His “Meditations” is a great read. I’ve scoured YouTube for lectures, documentaries, some of the docs are good but a lot retread the stuff that is already known. It is hard to find a place to pick up because a lot of Rome is rooted in Greece so it seems that the more you want to move forward with reading the history, the more you find yourself going backwards.

          • nebdem says:

            There was another site that had a bunch, but the person had to take them down, and this site is starting to re-upload them, they have a few other lectures now being uploaded. One of them is about the Crusades!

  3. waverly says:

    The Crazy World of Arthur Brown: Fire

  4. Pepe Lepew says:

    Merry Christmas from the Satellite of Love!

    • Darth Pluto says:

      And a happy mystery X-mas theater 3000 to you too!

    • nebdem says:

      Greetings, Pepe. The Niners are looking a lot better now. It will be interesting to see if they can continue to build up before the playoffs.

      • Pepe Lepew says:

        CRABTREE!

        • nebdem says:

          He and Kaepernick have chemistry. Boldin is also ripe now to assert more authority in moving the chains. If Gore stays healthy they still will be a tough team to beat, but they need to figure out a way to go up to Seattle and win.

  5. Pepe Lepew says:

    Yes, this is how we celebrate Christmas in the Lepew household. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oZ_RXnYEC_w

  6. RF Dude says:

    Yes, I’m still ‘picking at the scab’ as it were. Scrolling down through Tim mcdonald’s comment history to try to piece some more of the thing together.

    What HP does not tell those who decide to link to FB so they can continue to post:

    1) You must use the same name as on your FB account. For many, this is their real name (yeah, I know it’s a bad idea but lots of folks have it set up this way…)

    2) Your options for displaying your name on HP are a) First Name and Last Initial, or b) full First and Last name. Your old screen-name will be displayed in parenthesis, but your Facebook Name (whatever you used to sign up on FB) will be displayed as well. (Oh, yeah, there is the ‘request for anonymity form’ you can -request- that they not use your FB name but, well, would you trust them even if they granted you this boon???)

    3) Once you have linked to your FB account and jumped through the HP hoops, your Facebook name will be displayed on ALL COMMENTS YOU HAVE EVER MADE AT HP. This means that your comments, which are searchable on Google or other search engines, are available, with your real name attached, to anybody looking at your profile, etc.

    You cannot delete old comments – it’s all or nothing and the only “all” option is The Red Button.

    So far, they have not posted the name you entered when you joined HP to your old comments, but given that HP LIED in the past there is no, ABSOLUTELY NO, reason to trust they won’t do that at some time in the future.

    This is one of the many reasons I poofed my HP account. Not that I have that much concern that my ‘real name’ (bwahahahaha) on record at HP would be posted atop my old comments at HP but because I do not want to enable them to do so at the whim of any butt-sniffing, money-grubbing, Arianna-pandering power junkie who fills the post of “Director of Community” whateverthehell THAT is.

    My old comments are likely still searchable on Google, and no doubt a dedicated stalker could find them but it’s my feeble attempt to deny them such power. (Insert picture of mouse with middle-finger raised at the Eagle about to snatch him!)

    At least they’re gonna have to work harder at it.

    Just more input to the decision many are pondering at this moment – use it for what it is worth to you, and please protect yourselves as best you can. The storm is coming, it may well be upon us.

    • RF Dude says:

      (OK, I will give it a rest now. I’m talked out on this, mebbe a movie??)

      How ’bout them Yankees, anyway? 😉

      • Pepe Lepew says:

        @#$%ers got Ellsbury!

      • Pepe Lepew says:

        OK, this FB thing is such a cluster… it just is.

      • Bebe says:

        Okay..a bit deep but I recommend…highly…The Late Quartet…you would love it.
        Did I say I can not stand stupid movies, this in not one of them.

      • Mr. Hoodoo says:

        Couldn’t agree more with what you wrote. I nuked mine. And am seriously considering nuking my FB as well, given what you or someone else posted, here or over on Old McDonald’s HPAOLNSA page that each week Fuckerberg and his FB gestapo goes through and messes with the privacy settings to once again open our pages up to the general public.

        I haven’t decided yet as I gotta do some exploring to see if that’s true. All I use it for are family members. And rarely if ever post on it myself. It’s simply there to allow me to receive postings from those family members who do use theirs and stay in contact with them through that and Skype. I’ve been waiting to talk with my oldest who is the FB savvy person who knows how to navigate that site so we can explore it together to find out what’s what regarding the privacy settings. If it turns out that they do indeed, each week, reopen one’s page then that’sit…NUKED!

        I’m not married to the freakin’ net and posting anywhere that I need to sell more of myself off than I know I’ve already done since I first jumped onto the net in ’95. I really only frequent, on a DAILY basis, maybe three sites at most. And with hp outta commission, that’s one less. Besides, I get tired of my own voice, be it the actual one or simply the written one. I’m just a average person and what I have to say isn’t much different from what millions of others have to say on the whole. Let’s face it. We’re all just making noise most of the time so we could stand to shut up like we use to prior to the net.

        Not that expressing ourselves on the net is wrong or bad. It’s just that maybe, for those of us who remember the Pre-Net life, maybe it’d do some good to hush the din a bit, internally, externally and on the net.

        Of course, really, I’m just talking about what I’ve been thinking overall for some time now. And the worsening over the last many months of hp’s atmosphere and this latest round, coupled with being tired of The Machine as a whole, I think I’m getting to the point where I will deem my own presence ion the net as less than desirable.

        • gmb007 says:

          You make lots of great points, Hoodoo.
          However, don’t forget that like anything else, the ‘net is just a tool – for good, bad, whatever.
          We’re constantly exposed to people and ideas we never would have been otherwise.
          Global humanity is divided enough as it is by the 1%. The internet is the great equalizer, the last true bastion of free speech and equality.
          Don’t let HP put a bitter taste in your mouth and ruin the many ‘net wonders that are left. 🙂

      • gmb007 says:

        No, RF, it’s GOOD to talk it out! It’s totally therapeutic and I’m so enjoying your posts.
        Really, it helps purge the bile and anger! 🙂
        (I think it’s gonna be a long while before I stop posting about HP. lol)

    • Bebe says:

      You poofed..already ?

      • FOUR EYES says:

        So did I, BB..and a few others….8-)

        • Bebe says:

          You too….there loss is our gain…good to be with you m’love dear 4 eyes…;)

          • FOUR EYES says:

            Yes, dear, I did it first thing in the morning..Well, maybe 4th thing..LOL. But I had posted months back that I would hang until this day came..and it did. Later, ex-pats got a sloppy-kiss-note..I’m sad I didn’t get one…No, I’m not….8-)

      • RF Dude says:

        Yes, sweet Gypsy – last night, it was time. It felt alright, I had shed the emotional investment in HP over the past year, especially the past 4-5 months, and it was just a little twinge of remembered things.

        But the memories will always be with me, it’s what’s ahead that matters now.

    • nebdem says:

      A blatant information grab from a group that wants people to be pissed off about the NSA snooping for all information. Hypocrisy at its worst.

  7. ok gimme 20 minutes and you’ll have a new page.

  8. waverly says:

    Time for dessert. I got some chocolate creme pie, bbl 😀

  9. Pepe Lepew says:

    I haven’t poofed only because there’s a part of me that thinks, “at some point, HP is going to realize it’s mistake.”

  10. Pepe Lepew says:

    At the 3D IMAX showing of Santa Claus vs. the Martian, know-it-all 13-year-olds declare, “what the entire premise of this TV show was a bunch of crappy puppets making smart-aleck comments about bad 60s movies?”

    “Yes.”

    OH MY GOD, you people are dorks.”

  11. Mr. Hoodoo says:

    Just in case people have forgotten what we had previously:

    George Bush Picks A Running Mate http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=keFIWob8NM4

    • Mr. Hoodoo says:

      Oh, and in case no one notices, look at Laura to his right. She’s diggin’ in right along with her dubya. Whattta disgusting duo, ‘eh. No class, all the time.

      And check out the guy just behind them, He’s barely able to suppress laughing out loud.

    • Bebe says:

      H ha ha…later..;)

  12. nebdem says:

    Chaos in DC! RGIII has been benched for the rest of the season.

    • Haruko Haruhara says:

      What a train wreck. That’s what happens when a 5-foot-4 guy buys an NFL team.

      • CobaltBlueDawg says:

        Does he wear stacked heels?

      • nebdem says:

        He isn’t free from the blame. They are all to blame. It doesn’t help though that RGIII didn’t have a full off-season. Teams had a full year of tape on his rookie season to prepare for the next time they played. It might be the best move though to bench him just to close out this horrible season, just imagine what the fallout would be if he were to get hurt at the end of the season. It reminds me a lot of Vince Young. He had a great rookie season but then the other teams got hip and he didn’t progress and now he probably won’t even start again.

  13. CobaltBlueDawg says:

    So when you sign up for HP via FB, do they give you a tube of KY?

    • Bebe says:

      There you are my dear LOVE..CBD…saw you first thing in the morning ..one of these days we shall chat…awesome to see you in here, it was a full , warm. cozy day in here.

      nighty nite …love the music…XXOOXX….

  14. Haruko Haruhara says:

    750 comments, Jack!

  15. RF Dude says:

    Well, I gotta tend to some bidness – BBL.

    The new page is up for grabs, Kitteh is out to meeting!

  16. Hello everyone what’s up?

  17. CobaltBlueDawg says:

    My Kingdom for a firewire cable!!!!!!!!!!!!! Iphoto is overloaded and dragging this mac-hine to a halt. Cable is due here tomorrow…………..

  18. nebdem says:

    Amazing how much dust can collect inside a computer..

  19. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!NEW PAGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    follow the link below
    ⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇

    https://jackholesrealm.wordpress.com/2013/12/11/aolanna-post/

  20. Mr. Hoodoo says:

    Well….*sniff sniff snuffle sniff*…my divorce went through finally. Just got the notice. Took ’em freakin’ long enough! They don’t want me but they sure take their time makin’ it official.

    I’m no longer married to HPAOLNSA. I’M A FREEEEE POSTER!!!!

  21. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!NEW PAGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    follow the link below
    ⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇

    https://jackholesrealm.wordpress.com/2013/12/11/aolanna-post/

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!NEW PAGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    follow the link below
    ⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇⬇

    https://jackholesrealm.wordpress.com/2013/12/11/aolanna-post/

Comments are closed.