Home Watch


 

<br /><a href=”http://www.ustream.tv/&#8221; style=”padding: 2px 0px 4px; width: 400px; background: #ffffff; display: block; color: #000000; font-weight: normal; font-size: 10px; text-decoration: underline; text-align: center;” target=”_blank”>Live streaming video by Ustream</a>

About Jack Cassidy

Don't worry I'm not trying to be a Legitimate blogger.........no time for it and no money in it, just have fun.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Badges. Bookmark the permalink.

994 Responses to Home Watch

  1. I didn’t think it would work but I did. Made scallop risotto, the color was too light for me so I added pesto and a tinge ob burnt sugar and it worked.

  2. Now this is interesting, two of the Pussy Riot girls visiting Cecily McMillan in jail:
    http://www.theguardian.com/world/2014/may/09/cecily-mcmillan-pussy-riot-occupy-wall-street-
    Free Cecily!

  3. Death Stars N' Roses says:

    I heard a very loud noise a few minutes ago, like something exploded not too far away. Like a deep, echoing BANG! Now firetrucks and police, lots of them. I wonder if a transformer blew? I hope that’s it anyway.

  4. thedood says:

    Hello dwellers of the Realm! Wow Death….can you see anything? Do you live near something explosive?

    • Hobette says:

      • thedood says:

        Hi Hobette!! ❤
        I think I read you had a really pleasant evening last night…good weather…well behaved pup…feet didn't hurt! Good for you! 😀

        • Hobette says:

          Ah, yes! Life is good! And the rain for the next 2-4 days should soften the soil so I can get the spiral tie out in the yard–whaddya think–50′ rope enough go crazy & run length? 😉

          • thedood says:

            That seems like a lot I think…seems like it should be enough. I got a 30 foot leash! I use it for walks around the neighborhood…there’s some open areas around here where even though he can’t be off leash, he can run around a bit more. I make him walk at a heel when we’re along the road. I have to use the 6 foot leash in the park, but it’s my favorite…leather and made by Amish…should last many years! Will a spiral tie out hold? Cocoa sounds strong!

            • Hobette says:

              Well, I guess I’ll find out! It’s strong, and spirals 1′ down in. I’ll always be out with her when she’s out, so if she does go dragging it to town I’ll know. She’s getting MUCH better with her “Stop” “Wait” and “Come” commands, too. Worse comes to worse, it shouldn’t be too hard to track a dog dragging a piece of steel at the end of a 50′ rope in a village with a population of 500-600. Wish us luck!

              • thedood says:

                Wishing you the best of luck! I would recommend Something deeper than 1 foot but it may work…I’m no expert! And…sounds like she’s doing well with those commands! That’s a really big thing! I need to reinforce some of those with Clancey! He’s got sit pretty good, but stay…um,,,well not so much!
                He’s pretty good at it but could be better…I’m a softie when it comes to training! 😉

                • Hobette says:

                  I use “Wait” more than I use “Stay.” Somehow she understands the difference that she doesn’t necessarily have to maintain the “Sit,” but has to wait until I catch up to her and say “OK” before we move on. But then Cocoa Nut’s 6 yrs. old, and Clancy’s still a teenager…..

                • thedood says:

                  Not even a teen! 😉
                  We’ve never tried wait. It’s been sit, stay, down..
                  Come is really hit or miss!…at home…all the time….at the dog park….”Clancey who?” 😉

                • Hobette says:

                  Hahaha. Nutso did that the day of our last snow–Off she went tearin’ a$$ toward town. When I said “Cocoa!” she stopped, turned back, and made eye contact. When I said “Come” she turned around and hit top speed to town. 😆 She did come back home (eventually, after I cleared my car of heavy wet snow and drove all over the friggin’ village in a panic, she was here when I pulled in.) 😀 Bitch!

                • thedood says:

                  Haha! But you still love her! 😉

                • Hobette says:

                  And, if she pulls out the spiral she’ll lose 4-5 feet of rope because I’ll tie her brown furry butt to the tree instead! (I can get bitchy if necessary!) 😉

                • thedood says:

                  😉
                  I think things will go well! 😀

      • FOUR EYES says:

        🐻 ❤ ….8-)

        • Hobette says:

          {{WGHS}} Hiya 4EYES! Long time no see. How’re you, Mrs., and your feline friends? ❤

          • FOUR EYES says:

            We’re good and the kittehs are spoiled rotten, Gramz..Nutso’s behavin’, I see..Make those brownies yet??.. 🐻 ….8-)

            • Hobette says:

              Not yet. I’m waiting to do them when I take the car in for the brakes–when the Wisc. Dept. of Revenue sends me my Homestead Credit. There’s a box of brownie mix out by my mailbox, though–does that count? 😉

        • Hi Four Eyes,
          Nice to see you. How’s life been treating you on TGIF?

          • FOUR EYES says:

            Hiya Ingrid! Really enjoy your posts.. Life is good..Mrs4E has a t-shirt that says so!.. ❤ ….8-)

    • Death Stars N' Roses says:

      Just rednecks and teabaggers. Do they qualify?

    • Hi Dood, welcome back. How was your day?

      • thedood says:

        Not to bad…..I like your avi!! 🙂 I do some interesting things and work with good people but this administration is the WORST….a very depressing environment. I wish it could be employee owned!

  5. Hobette says:

    Hey, The Realm, don’t forget to put your USPS bags of non-perishable food by your mailbox by 9 a.m. tomorrow. Mine’s there now–If I can do it, you can do it. It makes a big difference!!!

  6. Jack, where is your banner from?

  7. I think if Adriana Huff brings back the old system everyone should return. Why you ask? Simple for years people have been complaining about trouble makers, most posters on HP at times seemed to be an online version Jan Brady:

    JB—Marcia, Marcia, Marcia!!!
    HP–Trolls, Trolls, Trolls!!!

    So HP used that to justify getting in bed with FB. 5 months later I’ve noticed that people tend to gravitate to sites that have the most virulent trolls online and pretty scummy moderation. So hey If AH brings back the old format and no FB why not? Hell most people want to post troll free right?
    Maybe it’s time to do an HP revisited page.

    • Death Stars N' Roses says:

      HP was overrun with trolls because they sold out to the basement of the interwebs, AOL. I don’t care if they turn water into wine, it will be a cold day in hell before I ever click on that site again after the way I was treated. Nope. Not gonna do it.

      • I’m just playing Devil’s advocate. so is it better to create an HP 2.0 somewhere have the place become HUGE and in time they do the same. If so will libs head across the internet pop crying out to heave IT WAS US THE COMMUNITY WHO MADE YOU, Yada yada…. to me it seems the Einstein’s definition of insanity— Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

        Albert Einstein

        • Death Stars N' Roses says:

          What HP 2.0? I haven’t seen that anywhere and i doubt I will again, it was a very unique place before it all went to shit, but the web has changed and my attitude towards trolling is that it’s part of life. Assholes, they’re everywhere. if a site is too overrun I won’t be on it long. A site can take reasonable steps IMO but I will never subject myself to that kind of iron fist censorship again, and lets be honest here, they abused us to an extent, if anything certainly our foolish trust that they actually valued our patronage. Which was pretty stupid in hindsight, but hey, you live and learn. they just wrote us off, so writing that place off in return was no great chore.

        • Ha, one of my favorite sayings by good old Einstein (his name means “one stone” in German, BTW). My other favorite is “Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I’m not sure about the universe”. But I am sure about the reich-wingers 🙂

    • Not me! I don’t go to CNN or Politico. No interest in that stuff.

      I see some people still like cracking skulls figuratively online.

    • Hobette says:

      They didn’t give a flying F about my need to remain anonymous to maintain my safety. As far as I’m concerned, HP went out of business when Little Timmy admitted he lied and then they ignored my very legitimate reasons for remaining anonymous.

      You caught me giving out too much identifying information once, Jack. You pointed it out to me and edited it out for me. I will always love you and your Realm Oasis for that!! (And you even treat me with respect when you have the “you’ve been naughty, G” talk with me!) ❤

      • HP just took it a notch-up it happens everywhere. I’m just looking back and seeing if people really improved their online experience. I can’t find much to say they have.

        • Hobette says:

          I did.

          • well I read the links posted here if not comment all the time and there are so many on line news sources, if not al, with comment sections and you see people just arguing for argument sakes.

            • Hobette says:

              I follow the links for the news, read the comments for entertainment, and close the link when I’ve had enough. It works for me. I actually thought I’d miss the challenge of troll-stomping more than I do.

        • I think mine has. I’ve given up on online drama .. and that goes for Facebook, too.

        • Death Stars N' Roses says:

          I have, definitely. much more enjoyable than having my comments never posted or just randomly deleted for a thought crime.

          • I gave up on HP when they wanted to force me to join FB in order to still be part of the “community”. Not that I wasn’t plenty mad before because they wouldn’t post some of my comments. The FB deal was the last straw, and that after they had promised to “grandfather” the older bloggers. I don’t like to be lied to, and take offense. There were quite a few special people I met on HP, but most of them seem to have quit, too. Still, it’s a shame. I’m over it now though, thanks also to Jack and you all ❤
            There are German sites where I blog also, and some people I "know" there are really nice, too.

            • Death Stars N' Roses says:

              Not only did they lie, they planned it out quite elaborately too, got rid of all dissent in one stroke. bah. I agree, I’m much happier at the places i post at now.

    • thedood says:

      There’s still that feeling of betrayal. Still…I don’t like threads with excessive trolls…especially nasty ones. I won’t even go to CNN because people here like Haruko have mentioned about how bad the trolls are. Yahoo is a cesspool. I have a few favorite news aggregates I go to because I like the format and the stories they post. This is pretty much the only troll-free environment I go to I think….and THANK YOU FOR THAT!!
      I’ve found myself slipping into that Jekyll and Hyde sickness that I was developing on HP…attack, attack, attack….now and again and I just don’t need that anymore. I’ve said it when I first came here and HH also said it recently as well….you’re never gonna change these people’s way of “thinking”…most of them are there just to incite and flame anyway. Frankly, sometimes that willful ignorance makes me want to reach through my computer and choke the living crap outta some of those trolls! But, why bother going there? They’re not gonna change!
      I suppose, if HP did go back to the “old ways” and everybody here went back, I would probably go just to converse with the people I know here (and some of the ones I used to converse with on HP…Basta, Begabug, Coinyer, etc. But…fuck the trolls. I got too much other shit to worry about! Plenty of other places I can get my news.

    • Caller no. 8 says:

      What if. Is there actually a notion to do that?

    • FOUR EYES says:

      I am won’t to say “Fool me once..Yada, yada, yada…Won’t get fooled again” .. :mrgreen: ….8-)

  8. Caller no. 8 says:

    Pyramiden!!! Does this mean we do things with the letter P again?

    • thedood says:

      What? Did I nod off??
      Hiya Caller!

      • Caller no. 8 says:

        Oh good. You can see me. (whew!) Hiya, dood!

        • thedood says:

          I guess I was zoning in on some wordy posts! And some Four Roses Single Barrel. And my pup. Hope life is treating you better…you still having plumbing issues?

          • Caller no. 8 says:

            Not fixed yet. But the issues are with my cheap-ass-to-a-folly landlords (an entire family!) that dink around for fukking ever.

            • thedood says:

              Grrrrrr…..
              I got an issue here with the AC…there’s a leak, but they don’t want to fix it because they’d have to dig up the sidewalk, so they just keep topping it off every few weeks in the warmer weather. What sucks is when I come home at 8pm to a 90F apartment and it takes forever for them to fill it and the place to cool back down again! I hate that I love the location so much!

              • Caller no. 8 says:

                location location… I can walk to work

                • thedood says:

                  Well…I can’t do that, but I live by a lake and a big park and a big dog park and lots of good roads to ride my bike on…so there’s that!

                • Caller no. 8 says:

                  I miss romping with my dog. I used to live close to canyon trails.

                • thedood says:

                  They’re great companions…as you know. Our relationship with our pets is really interesting sometimes. A bond with a non-human living thing. Clancey is my best bud right now.

                • Caller no. 8 says:

                  Jimi is the surrogate me, for my son. That’s a lot of responsibility for a dog, but he’s rollin’ with it.

  9. FOUR EYES says:

    Hiya, Realmsters!..Sorry to be scarce of late, but you know how it gets at times.. 🙄 ..Anyway, I thought I’d share…

    Some of you know I am being lured out of retirement..Yada, yada, yada..I refuse to sign the “company policy” for a third-party to do data collection as a condition of employment..Yada, yada, yada..They will be changing company policy..I’m starting next week….8-)

  10. Caller no. 8 says:

    Am I in Haruko’s invisibility shield?

  11. BassFace says:

    В чем дело, товарищи?

  12. BTW, Trolls never bug me I don’t understand the frustration. You see a post you don’t like? Roll over it.

    • I get frustrated when they hijack threads for hours on end as part of a tactic to piss people and bait them into getting banned.

      • Hobette says:

        Agreed!

      • I have seen right-wingers expressing their opinion answering back replies only to be threatened with banning for thread-jacking. Flossy on HP is a perfect example. And to be honest so was DH on current until he went cocoapuffs on people. I loved Mishi.

        • Death Stars N' Roses says:

          Flossy wasn’t really a troll IMO, but I guess that depends on how we define troll.

          • I mean most trolls are pegged right but sometimes when someone can hold their own people get frustrated and label them a troll. How long were you on HP? you must have seen it before if you were there long enough. once I had a decent exchange with a R-winger, later that night I remarked on another thread what happened and so called libs called me a r-winger, they got nasty.

            • Death Stars N' Roses says:

              Not as long as you guys but I was there for about a year before they sold to AOL, so yeah, I saw how it was at least at that time, and I got called a troll when I first joined because as you probably know by now I can be opinionated and don’t have a problem telling people what they don’t want to hear. So people often wrote me off because I didn’t have many fans yet, always thought that was stupid. Sometimes that place could get a bit cliquish, i just carried on and did my own thing. Eventually they came around but not everyone, that place had factions, you know? They would turn on you at the drop of a hat.

          • thedood says:

            Yeah..I wouldn’t call Flossy a troll…but he had his moments.

    • Hobette says:

      I think that’s a matter of degree. Sure, sometimes that’s the easiest way. But other times, in order to remain true to oneself, confrontation is a part of life….

    • Caller no. 8 says:

      I miss floss and dribblybob

    • Death Stars N' Roses says:

      Those kind never really bother me, the ones that bite your ankles can be annoying but fun to torment at least. It’s when they overrun a thread and keep spamming the same crap, that gets old. The stormfronters and gun nuts are usual suspects.

  13. Another thing I have been looking back on is OWS I still fell the same way but I think there are some really good lessons to be learned from the movement.

  14. Hobette says:

    Goodnight now, The Realm. I wish happy, peaceful dreams to all. {{HUGS}}

  15. BassFace says:

    As promised… a Giro d’Italia Update!!!

    Today was the Stage 1 team time-trial (TTT) in Belfast, Northern Ireland. The strongest team on this day was Orica-GreenEdge, who won the stage, and put it’s resident Canadian, Svein Tuft, into the pink jersey heading into tomorrow’s Stage 2 down the irish countryside. Of the GC-faves, the best placed is Cadel Evans as his BMC team finished 3rd behind Orica and Omega Pharma / Quickstep. Katusha didn’t do so well (13th) which leaves a fairly large hill, perspectively, for Joaquim Rodriguez to climb over in the later stages. Even worse was Garmin-Sharp who suffered a crash that took out Irishman Dan Martin… his Giro barely got started and it’s now over for him, with a suspected broken collarbone.

Comments are closed.