Happy Mother’s Day


Mothers-Day

Sometime ago I was talking to my sister. We  were recalling some of my mother’s most colorful capers and I told her how surprised I was that I could recollect so much from the time I was about  five to ten years old. She said it was because that was the age that I needed her the most and when I felt the most loved…I could not disagree with my sister because she had done the same for her children as our mother did for us.

 

 

About Jack Putain

Don't worry I'm not trying to be a Legitimate blogger.........no time for it and no money in it, just have fun.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Badges. Bookmark the permalink.

589 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day

    • msolomon2 says:

      their only accomplishment in this world is that keep managing to dig deeper and deeper into still new deeper levels of absolute douche-baggery!

      • fi says:

        This story would be front page news in the UK, not stuck on a blog site!

        • Yes, Fi, and not only in the UK. In countries where mass shootings are rare, all news in connection with them is big news. This might even make the 20:00 h news on television. People get used to murder and its aftermath, how else would they still be able to live?

          • fi says:

            Very true Ingrid, but watch out Old Murdoch is trying to buy German and Italian Sky news outfits!

            • msolomon2 says:

              murdoch is a criminal of the first order. A truly sane world would stop him.

              • fi says:

                The guy is nearly 90, just one person I am depending on.

                • msolomon2 says:

                  his so-called son is probably actually a mengele created clone ready to take over when the original finally goes to his reward in hell.

                • Yeah, these filthy rich guys have a way to raise their offspring to be as bad as they are. More stupid, often, but just as greedy and without scruples.

              • I agree. I remember the scandals in the UK that Murdoch had his dirty old hands in. Why the rich can do anything they want to without going to jail when they get caught is a scandal!

                • msolomon2 says:

                  I was hopeful that scandal would burn him, finally destroy him here in the u.s or at least damage him, unfortunately as you say the money (and the connections it bought) seem to have protecting him.

            • I don’t have cable, but you are right, the Sky issue is big news in Germany. We do have a lot of public broadcasting channels that every household has to pay for each month (exception: poor people). There’s a lot of bitching about that, because nobody wants to pay anything, and their programs are often directed at older viewers, they are not as innovative as the private TV stations, in other words, they could be better. But it ensures that the privately owned stations have plenty of competition; the public stations have more viewers than the private ones. Also, they hardly have any commercials (commercial breaks are only allowed between 18:00 h and 20:00 h, and not at all on Sundays and holidays). You have something like it in the UK with BBC. By the way, the ESC was aired (and co-financed) by ARD, a public station 🙂

    • Hello Fi,
      Wow, to steal a memorial sign and claim the child never existed. Now that’s an idea for the NRA, isn’t it? All the people shot to death never really existed, just a figment of the imagination!

    • Hobette says:

      This link was posted in the comments there. These people need help NOW!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g4d2g9XIFnE

      • Good day, Hobette. This is sick! And these people don’t even know proper English. “A father whoM has just lost his child”. Yeah, and the earth is flat, as I’ll find out again during my flight tomorrow.
        A question: The way this guy speaks (the voice-over) on the video, what kind of an accent is this? Northern, I suppose, but where exactly? Reminds me of Slim Shady a bit.

        • Hobette says:

          Type of accent? I don’t know how to answer that. Maybe someone here who is more well-traveled across the U.S. could tell you?

    • boyinboycott says:

      They should have named this toxic POS, and given his location, and a photo.

      • Like they do with sex offenders, even if the “offense” was a young guy sleeping with a slightly younger girl? Yeah, in cases like this one, that would be a good idea.

  1. msolomon2 says:

    Hell comes to earth in 1st trailer, clip from NBC’s Constantine series
    this has potential!
    http://www.blastr.com/2014-5-12/hell-comes-earth-1st-trailer-clip-nbcs-constantine-series

  2. msolomon2 says:

    Saw on a comedy show a very telling truth about the whole climate “debate”, it was said as a setup to the whole joke but struck me as actually very true. The fact that when ever there is a “discussion’ on this issue on a “news” program they always have 2 people one on either “side”, but the fact that 97.1% of scientists say there is no debate this is established scientific fact, well this 1 against 1 setup for a discussion gives the impression that there is some kind of 50-50 actual debate, there isn’t it’s 97 against 3, there is no legitimate debate at all. (and you know the 3% are just paid shills, like they used to have in the tobacco industry swearing there was no science that cigs cause cancer) Here’s the clip! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cjuGCJJUGsg

    • Very true, Solomon, if 97.1% of scientists are convinced that man-made climate change is real, then two people with opposing views indeed give the impression that it’s a 50-50 thing. I don’t remember that kind of setup on TV back home, though. There will be a climate change denier on a talk show once in a while, but s/he will be the only one, and likely be booed out. That there is man-made climate change is not doubted in my country, only by a few nuts.

      • msolomon2 says:

        propaganda is strong in the u.s it’s allowed to run free, our reich-wingers learned their craft well.

  3. waverly says:

    Good morning Fi, MS, BiB, where is everyone else this morning, did they fall off the planet ?

    • fi says:

      Clinging on by my toenails, you and Darla ok?

    • Hello Waverly, I haven’t fallen off the planet yet, but I’ll fall into another hemisphere tomorrow 🙂
      It’s raining here, third day in a row. I planned it just right, scheduling my departure so I’d leave the bad weather, and head for the good weather, didn’t I 😉
      I’ve been thinking about Heinlein’s novel “The door into summer”
      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Door_into_Summer
      This is what I’ll be doing tomorrow: Entering that plane in winter, and leaving it again in hot summery Madrid. My “reading fodder” (a German expression) will be Neal Stephenson’s 1152 pages long “Cryptonomicon”. That should keep me entertained during the whole long flight.

      • msolomon2 says:

        Luved Snow Crash and the Diamond Age.

        • Haven’t read anything by Stephenson yet. It always seemed too big a challenge to start a book that thick while I was still working. Cryptonomicon has been on the shelf for quite a while, waiting to be read. I read only two books out of the ten I brought with me while I was here. I have been averaging eight to ten books a month since I’m retired. I suppose less (and therefore more time for other things) is more.

          • Haruko Haruhara says:

            Oh, I love Cryptonomicon, and Snow Crash and Diamond Age, those are three of my favourite novels. I wish someone would make a movie out of Cryptonomicon. Wasn’t so much into the Baroque Cycle … it seemed like not much plot or character development was happening. His last novel was kind of a spy novel/thriller. He seems to have dropped science fiction as a genre.

  4. waverly says:

    Well dear Realmsters, I made the monumentous decision to attend an AA meeting this evening. AA has done so very much for me in the past and I need to give back. As they say the only way to keep your sobriety is by giving it away. In other words to give freely of yourself to help others. Why you might ask, would going to an AA meeting be such a big thing ? Because I have been holed up in this apartment without outside contact now for many months. Yes I have an irrational fear of people. It’s on a list with a whole shitload of other phobias that I have. My sister always condescendingly asks “why are you afraid of THAT ?” “if I knew and had a good reason, it wouldn’t be irrational, now would it?”

    Anyways, this is a symbolic step on my part to rejoin humanity, face to face that is. You guys on the Realm are great. But I have been hiding here sight unseen for too long. My meeting is this evening at 8 central time. I’m kinda telling on myself here now, so I don’t back down and chicken out later.

    • Wow, Waverly, that’s great!!! It’s always hard to make that first step, I know it. I was holed up at home for months, too. Not completely, but way too much, especially considering how much time I had on my hands after my retirement. That’s the reason why I decided to take this South American trip, a sure way to not be able to cloister myself anymore. I’ve been doing some of that here, too, while chatting with you all. But compared to before I was practically on the town the whole time. I met some great people in Buenos Aires, we are still in contact, and hopefully will remain so for a long time. I plan on sending them a package with some things they will love, especially the children. I look forward to ordering the stuff and sending it more than they can possibly enjoy opening it.
      I also understand that you are telling us in order not to chicken out. I did that myself quite a few times when I told the Realm about my plans.
      I have been thinking of contacting the school near my house, and ask if they need anybody to help children with their English, like reading with them. So, now I’ve done the same thing, I’m telling on myself, so I won’t back down.
      I look forward to hearing about your experiences!
      Have a great day, Waverly.

    • fi says:

      Wavy, we will be with you every step of the way!

    • boyinboycott says:

      Really proud you are stepping out of your comfort to go to a meeting. Alanon and Adullt Children of Alcoholics helped me. I probably would have become alcoholic if my body would have tolerated booze. “the teacher arrives when the student is ready,” perhaps you are the teacher/ sponsor someone is ready for.

    • If you can deal with the realm you can deal with the world 🙂 It’s a good thing you do. Who is this sister of yours with that California hippie attitude (joking) now I’m going to have all the Cali realmsters on my case.

      You will no doubt be helpful to someone.

      • That’s true, Jack. Quite a few things that Wave wrote have helped ME. So, indeed, if she can help people here, she can do it in real life, too. Though as a first step she will probably be on the receiving end. You always have to do that first step before you take the second one, which will be much easier. Uruguay hopefully was my first step. Or maybe the second, getting off my butt and coming here probably was the first one.

        • Hi:
          you have done wonderfully and made friends on a different continent, very cool. I’m sure they will love to hear from you when you are back home.

          • Yes, Jack, getting out of my comfort zone was the best thing I’ve done in a while. Now everything back home looks so much easier, since I’m not so shy of people anymore. AND: I have quite a lot of interesting stories to tell!

    • Hobette says:

      I admire your strength to do this tonight. As you know, I isolate. Have been for years. I don’t think I could muster up the inner strength you are to make this commitment. I’ll be thinking of you tonight at 8!!

  5. boyinboycott says:

    Sometimes actions are like moving from one gym ring to the next ring.You let go of the first ring, and hang momentarily in mid air,until you grasp the next ring.

  6. boyinboycott says:

    hey jack, how goes it?

  7. Haruko Haruhara says:

    Well, the right wing backlash against Michael Sam has begun and it’s predictable.

    Right-wingers complain the media treats Michael Sam better than they did Tim Tebow.

    http://talkingpointsmemo.com/livewire/michael-sam-tim-tebow-conservatives-double-standard

    • Reich-wingers are despicable. Guns, war and religion are good, sex outside of marriage, much less with your own gender, is worse than mass murder (in the name of poor misinterpreted Jesus) to them, it seems. I still believe in the old hippie saying: Make love, not war 😀

    • msolomon2 says:

      ya jus gotsta git rit wit Jezuz! (answer to all problems according to the reich-wingers, well Jezuz and a gun! All ya need!)

  8. Haruko Haruhara says:

    A former basketball player at Ole Miss claimed his Twitter rants about Michael Sam were part of a social experiment on homophobia because he has a friend who is gay.

    http://talkingpointsmemo.com/livewire/marshall-henderson-michael-sam-tweets-psychology-research-study

    The guy gave a creative explanation, I’ll give him that.

  9. I’ve been hoping it would quit raining so I could go and make some last-minute purchases. But the rain is getting harder, so I guess I’ll just go ahead and deal with it. Funny that my last day here is the day with the worst weather (apart from that storm right when I got here). Instead, I vacuumed the place, and cleaned the shower. There’s still a bit to be done, but the first step has been made. After cleaning, I’ll pack my suitcase.
    I’m off into the rain, and I’ll see you all later.

    • Haruko Haruhara says:

      do they have winter there?

      I know in Bahia Blanca, it gets very cold and rainy in July and August.

      • Yes, Haruko, they do have a kind of winter, which is starting right now. They never get snow, though. It’s nothing WE would call winter. Here’s what Wikipedia has to say about the weather here:
        “Montevideo enjoys a mild humid subtropical climate (Cfa, according to the Köppen climate classification) and it borders on an oceanic climate (Cfb). The city has cool winters (June to September), warm summers (December to March) and volatile springs (October and November); there are numerous thunderstorms but no tropical cyclones. Rainfall is regular and evenly spread throughout the year, reaching around a 950 millimetres (37 in).

        Winters are generally wet, windy and overcast, while summers are hot and humid with relatively little wind. In winter there are bursts of icy and relatively dry winds and continental polar air masses, giving an unpleasant chilly feeling to the everyday life of the city. In the summer, a moderate wind often blows from the sea in the evenings which has a pleasant cooling effect on the city, in contrast to the unbearable summer heat of Buenos Aires.

        Montevideo has an annual average temperature of 16.7 °C (62.1 °F). The lowest recorded temperature is −5.6 °C (21.9 °F) while the highest is 42.8 °C (109.0 °F). Sleet is a frequent winter occurrence. Snowfall is extremely rare: flurries have been recorded only four times but with no accumulation, the last one on 13 July 1930 during the inaugural match of the World Cup,[43] although many meteorologists believe it was hail (the other three snowfalls were in 1850, 1853 & 1917); the alleged 1980 Carrasco snowfall was actually a hailstorm.”

  10. msolomon2 says:

    Here’s a article to turn the stomach….
    I Went to the Nutritionists’ Annual Confab. It Was Catered by McDonald’s.
    http://www.motherjones.com/environment/2014/05/my-trip-mcdonalds-sponsored-nutritionist-convention

    • Yuck, sorry to say that again: only in America. One of the comments says “I think Budweiser being the Gold sponsor at the World Cup in Germany was a bit more embarrassing. At least for the home country”. Not quite, the Soccer World Cup is not a Dieticians’ Conference. Nevertheless, the country was outraged.
      Looking at those pictures of “healthy salads” sponsored by McD makes me sick, too. All those plastic trays that will still be around 500 years from now, unless they’re thrown into the sea, churned up by water and sun, and eaten by the creatures in the water who consequently die of hunger with a full stomach. The food “industry” does not produce food, it produces poison that kills slowly.

      • msolomon2 says:

        as usual in merica, the industrialization, monetization, commodification of -everything-… Yes the industrial-“food”-complex does not create food, it’s just chemicals, high-fructose-corn-syrup, salt, and fat masquerading as food.

  11. msolomon2 says:

    Why the FCC Is Ditching Net Neutrality
    http://www.motherjones.com/politics/2014/05/charts-why-fcc-ditching-net-neutrality
    couldn’t be clearer, all about the corporate-fascism.
    yup… http://vimeo.com/85411919

    • As I wrote before, in Germany the slowing of the Internet for people who can’t pay the extra charge was defeated because it would have kept poorer people from using it. This kind of thinking does not exist enough in the USA, so I fear the corporations will win, as they almost always do. Greed often ends in defeat, but it hurts the victims earlier and stronger.

    • Wow. As much as I feel for those poor girls and their families, I was thinking – what about Sudan, what about Somalia and other failed states, where is the outrage? And I dislike the “our” girls, too. They’re not American children, after all.

      • msolomon2 says:

        Truth! yes I agree with all you’ve said. merica has a notoriously short attention span, merica basically ignores Africa in general I’ve often thought because of our “troubled” early history with Africa and her kidnapped peoples!

  12. Hobette says:

    Who me?? Who us?? Ah, ah, ah, geez, no, we didn’t do that!!!! (even if stuff put on the Interwebs stays on the Interwebs for, well, forfuckingeveryousickmorons!!!)
    http://www.dailykos.com/story/2014/05/09/1298029/-FBI-Finally-Show-Up-Bundy-s-Thugs-Suddenly-Deny-They-Pointed-Weapons-at-Federal-Agents-LMFAO?detail=email#
    Very interesting conversations initiated by the Top Troll–I mean jbou.

    • About time!

      I’ve never been able to figure out the Daily KOS commenting system. I used to see some old HPers there.

      • Hobette says:

        I go to KOS (and other sites) only to read. The only I post on is Realm. This way I get the enlightenment of the enlightened commentors, the entertainment of the ignorant trollsters, and almost always someone enlightened says exactly (or very close to) what I would say. When my anxiety starts flaring up, I take advantage of that red “X” on the top right. If I think Realmsters might be interested, I C&P the link and share it here. Easy-peasy way for me to keep myself somewhat up-to-date and still control my blood pressure. 😉

    • Lizard says:

      Monkeys with guns.

    • Hobette says:

      I heard news of his death on MSNBC earlier. Only 71 yo. 😦

    • msolomon2 says:

      would it be insensitive of me to point out the gentlemans name?… Crisco…. I’m sorry that was just wrong!

  13. boyinboycott says:

    My brother let me know a beloved aunt of ours has passed away yesterday. She was the last of my Mom’s era, and only one other aunt remains on my Dad’s side.She was the cool laid back aunt ,with tons of kids and pets, so when we visited, we’d always stay a night or two with our cousins.
    safe home
    The Beatles – In My Life

  14. Hobette says:

    But, but, but racial profiling is a myth propagated by race-baiting libruls just to make other people look racists……. http://www.upworthy.com/know-anyone-that-thinks-racial-profiling-is-exaggerated-watch-this-and-tell-me-when-your-jaw-drops-2?c=reccon1

  15. Lizard says:

    Hi peoples. Took a few photos of Doe Bay on my jog this morning –
    https://lizardisland.shutterfly.com/pictures/30
    https://lizardisland.shutterfly.com/pictures/31

  16. Hobette says:

    This video touches me in my soul. http://www.upworthy.com/the-cops-called-it-a-lovers-quarrel-she-took-polaroids-and-proved-them-wrong?c=upw1
    What was done to me (sometimes in front of my daughter, where/when she learned to treat me as she does now) should not happen to ANYONE!!

Comments are closed.