(Mis)Information Highway


net

Today I will give you a glimpse of what a non-neutral Internet could be like.

About Fancy Jack

Don't worry I'm not trying to be a Legitimate blogger.........no time for it and no money in it, just have fun.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Badges. Bookmark the permalink.

588 Responses to (Mis)Information Highway

  1. Haruko Haruhara says:

    Raw Story finally posted something on this. They’ve been slow to jump on this for some reason.

    http://www.rawstory.com/rs/2014/05/15/fcc-votes-to-tentatively-open-internet-fast-lanes-in-3-2-split/

  2. waverly says:

    And Jack, I know you said you were busy this coming Monday but if you have any free time on Sunday you may wanna swing by Union Square around 2:30ish. There will be an “Anti-Police Brutality RALLY” going on and you might get some interesting pictures.

    The rally is being organized by Cecily’s supporters in their belief that she should be set free, and also for all survivors of police brutality and victims of mass incarceration.

    I think Union Square is where Cecily’s college is located if I’m not mistaken.

    • thedood says:

      “…you might get some interesting pictures.”

      Or pepper sprayed! F_cking cops! I’m so sick of reading articles on their brutality…an almost everyday topic!
      Hiya wave….posted my “two cents” to major above…hope we can help him! My laptop is on a “pad” with a couple fans in it to cool it…but like Caller said…it could be full of dust bunnies too!

      • Haruko Haruhara says:

        I know, me too. You know what it is? Everyone carrying around smartphones now. People weren’t getting video of this stuff 10 and 20 years ago, but I think it’s always been going on.

        • thedood says:

          Hi Haruko! You may be right about that. Still…it seems like they are getting more militarized than anything. I’m pretty much a law abiding citizen but reading all these stories make me less inclined to trust law enforcement….I try to, but all these stories are concerning. Did you read the story on Raw about the cop that shot the penned in 10 month old puppy? I mean, WTF….a puppy!? What about pepper spray if you had to do something (Clancey wasn’t exactly tiny at 10 months)….it’s what I carry in the mountains and woods when I visit MT…and that’s for Grizzlies!

        • waverly says:

          I think you are right HH. Stories come to mind of the protests at 1968 Democratic National Convention, and the Chicago police chasing protesters down the street clubbing them along the way.

      • waverly says:

        Hey Dood, good to see you’re still here on the information super highway as it were.

        I hope we can help out Major as well. Computer problems are the pits. The reason I think his problems are more than just an overheating issue, have to do with the previous posts he made about his system not logging out and shutting down properly. That is a classic symptom of infection having nothing to do with his power consumption or heat build up.

        It will certainly not hurt him in the slightest to perform the three simple steps in “PC Advisor”, to 1.) start up in Safe Mode 2.) delete all temporary files 3.) Download and run Malwarebytes. Malwarebytes is free. Taking your PC to the Geek Squad in not.

        As a matter of fact, it would probably be better for him (cost-wise) if it were malware (software) instead of something hardware related that requires taking his PC apart.

        I always try the free solution FIRST. Nothing against the Geek Squad, I love those guys, but why pay if you don’t have to.

        • thedood says:

          I recently put Malwarebytes on my laptop…all my antivirus/malware software is free and seems to work pretty good. There had been times where my ex-in laws and even my former step-daughter had virus issues. I was able to “clean” their computers…sometimes taking hours and digging deep into the registry…found lots of guidance for free on the Google tubes. But, a man’s gotta know his limitations! 😉

          • waverly says:

            Hey I am the biggest wuss when it comes to downloading and installing anything on my computer. But from Major’s description, I don’t think he has much other of a choice than to download and run Malwarebytes. If “the world’s biggest fraidy cat” (me) can do it, anyone can.

      • waverly says:

        The fear of getting pepper sprayed is exactly what the cops want you to be afraid of !!!

        Like I said in my post above – This is an intimidation tactic designed to prevent law abiding American citizens from exercising their constitutional first amendment right to peaceful assembly. People in this country have a RIGHT to assemble without be hassled by the Gestapo.

        Cecily McMillan’s trial is the vehicle that the “powers that be”, are using to send out their message of intimidation. They want ensure that future activists will be so afraid to assemble, that there will be no more peaceful protests like OWS. This trial and it’s outcome are meant to do only one thing: to instill fear into the hearts and minds of the masses, to squash our first amendment right under the constitution of the United States.

        Contrary to popular belief – This is not a free country.

  3. thedood says:

    I have a question about net neutrality and fiber optic systems….my understanding is that there is basically no bandwidth issues with fiber optic cable….enormous amounts of data at enormous speeds are no problem. Anyone heard how this rule would affect the companies using fiber optic…if it affects them and their customers at all?

    • Haruko Haruhara says:

      I don’t know, so much of this is over my head.

      • thedood says:

        I think I’ve read that there is pretty much unlimited bandwidth with fiber optic. This whole net neutrality thing is probably more about greed than bandwidth.

    • bebe says:

      Dood !!!!!!!
      Running out now…hope you are still around…just noticed My Pomchi is limping today, she is 9 and runs like a bullet train. I just gave her half of baby aspirin ( she is 14 lbs) . Just made an appointment on Saturday morning. If you have any suggestion I will read that when i get back.
      She sends smooches to Clancey and You and hugs from me ❤

      • thedood says:

        Oh so sorry to hear that! 😦 I gave Clancey some aspirin when he had that gimpy paw…you can look online for proper dosages…sometimes dogs can get what would seem to be a large dose but is okay for them. Here is a link I found…http://www.school-for-champions.com/animalhealth/aspirin.htm#.U3UQAyhLq8A
        Let Pomchi rest and take it easy until your vet visit…maybe walks but no “bullet train” action until she’s seen by your vet. Hope she’s better soon! Keep me posted! Smooches and hugs back to both from both of us! 🙂 ❤

        • bebe says:

          Awe…thanks for the link…I just came home and instead of wagging her tail near the glass side door she was in the study in her one of five beds ( all over the house) 😦 We had our twice a year heating / cooling guy in the morning ..instead of following him up and down she stayed upstairs even the guy was surprised on that. …later I noticed the limp.
          She is always on leash outside, but in the house with any company she does that bullet train action.

          Not good at all…I`ll let you know.

        • bebe says:

          Went for a short walk…she saw the mail lady who gives her a cookie, or to any pups in the neighborhood..Pomchi waits for that moment each and every day. Anyways…she was not limping then but I am watching her with my google eyes, it might start again.

          @ SH.5 CBD, and dood…Just received my Japanese teapot.( the name is Charo lol) .and it is a beauty, 300 ml, so smaller 2 cups I suppose.

          http://www.amazon.com/Hario-Chaor-2-Cup-Maker-Silver/dp/B000VP0HWK/ref=sr_1_2?s=home-garden&ie=UTF8&qid=1400190509&sr=1-2&keywords=hario++2+cup+tea+maker

          ❤ ❤

          • bebe says:

            Oops…so sorry….

          • thedood says:

            I know it’s obvious but have you checked her paws? Maybe a rock or splinter? You can gently palpate her joints as well to see if any of them are sensitive, though it sounds like she is doing a bit better! 😀 Keep me posted! I bookmarked the tea maker….I can see one in my future! Booked the tea site as well! 😉

            • bebe says:

              No I did not..looks to me by the walk it could be her leg or hip. Normally she would get suspicious and the chi in her could get me with her teeth, she is very loving and affectionate but have some small doggie issues. I will check when she is in bed..

              The tea maker is exactly what I had but is for one cup, I should have checked the volume before , oh well this would do.
              Syl…Jack I see has a new page, Bill Moyer is the best..nite nite for now. 😉

              • thedood says:

                Yes…they can be protective of sore spots! Maybe can work on that chi…no reason she shouldn’t trust you…you love her and want her to be healthy!
                Sleep well and as I said…keep me posted…hopefully a temporary discomfort! 🙂

    • waverly says:

      I do not know of what companies using fiber optic that you speak.

      However, there are individual municipalities that have set up their own fiber optic systems. They are pretty much exempt. They don’t need Comcast or whoever to deliver their service to them. Lucky you if you live in one of those places.

  4. waverly says:

    Hey Copper, yay for your state

    Minnesota Introduces Kill Switch Bill For Mobile Theft http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-27423519

  5. waverly says:

    Hi Realm, this is a pretty amazing story about Uruguay’s President. Ingrid is right, he sounds like a pretty cool guy.

    10 Reasons to Love Uruguay’s President José Mujica http://www.alternet.org/world/10-reasons-love-uruguays-president-jose-mujica?page=0%2C1

  6. waverly says:

    Hey everyone there are a few Realmsters we haven’t seen since Jack put up this post.
    – Where are you guys ? Hope you are ok, we miss you. 🙂
    Fluffy
    Hobette
    MSolomen
    Darth
    Ricki Lee

  7. nebdem says:

    Greetings!

    Note: I only post the following link to highlight a change

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/05/15/fcc-net-neutrality_n_5331278.html#comments

    Look at the comment section! I have checked a few other article comment sections to see if it has been fully implemented, several of the other threads do not have it, but several articles do have this new format.

    • Caller no. 8 says:

      Just call it Zuckerberg Post, why don’t they?

    • bebe says:

      Good evening nebdem…this is a crafty move. I clicked on it and it took me to my FB page. My FB is personal not for Puff Po to have a clue.
      This tells you how low they can get.

      Good to see you as always and I need to run along take good care of yourself and Milley ❤ ❤

      • nebdem says:

        Greetings, Bebe!!

        It is so great to see you! I hope all is well? I love the photo of the Tea maker you bought!! That is cool looking!

        Millie send Pomchi whisker kisses! I hope to get a chance to chat with you more, it has been awhile since we really were on at the same time.

        • bebe says:

          I know who got to meet and chat somehow, now I need to start cooking. The teapot is awesome but I did not realize it is going to be embedded, oh well…You bud Jack could scrub it, could he not ?

          Between you and me only I send the link to our common friend whom we adore and respect, I will not mention his name in here.. wink *

          • bebe says:

            typo..we got to

            • nebdem says:

              Don’t worry about the embed! If Jack gets fussy, I’ll flatten him!

              I have still to read our friends last few articles. Sadly he should not even be over there anymore since they are so wrong in how they treat his articles, by burying them, and by how he constantly has problems with comments written in response to the great articles he writes, being lost and him having to re-post them. He is so patience, HP doesn’t deserve a man of his character.

              • bebe says:

                I knew I could count on you always, same with CBD and forpeace…
                I agree completely what you say at the same time I do not want to circulate his name because I am sure some staff reads the realm. He is too good to be there !!

                • nebdem says:

                  I agree, it is best to keep their name out of this, because why should those reading the Realm know what we feel about one of the mistakes they have made in regards to a blessing they have now that they don’t fully appreciate.

          • bebe says:

            your HP link..oh my…

    • waverly says:

      Neb – you’re not seriously thinking that I am going to click on this are you ?

      • Caller no. 8 says:

        Go ahead. Your reaction will be`worth it.

      • nebdem says:

        Greetings, Waverly!

        Well, if you want to see how they have changed their comment section and how low-based their move was, you have to click, if not it will remain a mystery!

  8. BassFace says:

    Good evening!
    Amgen Tour of California Stage 5 to Santa Barbara ON NOW!!!
    http://tourtracker.amgentourofcalifornia.com/

  9. nebdem says:

    FLASH!

    “The turkey was swimming in to the mainland from a small island in Blue Hill Bay, about a quarter mile from the mainland. He didn’t see the turkey enter the water, only was alerted to it by coworkers when it was about a 100 yards out, watching while it came in and made landfall.”

    OMG!! This is a very disturbing revelation. Do you know what this means? Do you realize that now not only do we have to fear their attacks from above, but now also from sea, ocean, river, etc!!!

    OMG 😦

    http://outthere.bangordailynews.com/2014/05/15/outdoor-recreation/do-wild-turkeys-swim-in-the-ocean-you-bet/

    • waverly says:

      one if by land, two if by sea. They can’t fly remember http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lf3mgmEdfwg

    • Lizard says:

      The horror!!! This is good, though. No one is paying attention to the Lizard Illuminati Army of Doom.

      • waverly says:

        Hey Liz ,
        “Lizard Illuminati Army of Doom”
        – I’m going to Google that and see what comes up 😀

        • Lizard says:

          I told Google to “erase my history” just like they are required to do for the Europeans now.

          • waverly says:

            HAHAHAHAHAHA oh you are good Liz, 😀

            • Lizard says:

              Waverly – you have an MS degree in Computer Science? I graduated from Northeastern University in Boston, cum laude with a Bachelors in Comp. Sci. I know lots of dead languages now – Cobol, C, Pascal, Fortran, z80 Zilog Assembler, HP mini 4gl’s, HP Image Databases and Basic. 😆

              • Lizard says:

                Oh, I do know one “live” language – Microsoft Enterprise Manager SQL database stuff.

              • waverly says:

                There are different assembly languages that are still used quite a bit in embedded systems, like avionics. Also the C++ that is being used in embedded avionic software is more like a neutered version of C++ It’s closer to pain old C minimally using some features of “classes” when necessary. Just be glad you don’t have to work with any of this *&^% anymore.

                • waverly says:

                  I meant plain old C, but maybe “pain” is a better description, LOL (oh I kill myself)

                • Lizard says:

                  Glad to be out of it. Although last year I helped an old gentleman recover over 600 business contacts on an old obsolete Palm Pilot. Got it to load on Windows after some trouble. Did a lot of contracting, Y2k and the like. Then worked as an employee for an MS SQL system I installed globally. Don’t miss the late night calls and laying in bed grinding my teeth.

                • waverly says:

                  I hear ya with the “grinding teeth” thing. Hence my reluctance to go back to work. But work I must, as I am not about to be able to live on my good looks alone 😀

                • Lizard says:

                  The old guy paid me three hours consulting wages plus bonus – fresh salmon! Will work for fish. 🙂

                • waverly says:

                  hell yeah, I’ll work for free salmon any day.

          • nebdem says:

            I have files on you and your cold-blooded brethren, asking Google to erase it won’t save you.

      • waverly says:

        Ok, this is what I got, a post about conspiracy theories. There’s actually someone out there with this theory ? I thought you were making this up, LOL.

        “My personal favourite conspiracy theory has to be that of the shape-shifting lizard illuminati who secretly rule the world. One proponent of the lizard theory is John Rhodes who runs the website: Reptoids.com

        Apparently the world is run by a subterranean race of humanoid lizards. However Rhodes fails to explain how a race far more advanced and intelligent than us has failed to take control of the planet’s surface and merely busies itself with tinkering around at the edge of our existence.”

  10. BassFace says:

    Giro d’Italia Update…

    Stage 6 was brutal and bloody!! Finishing atop the legendary Montecassino (site the terrible WW2 battle – who can forget the Nazi paratroppers dug in at the monastery while the GIs and British Tommies laid their assault… finally the monastery leveled to dust by the bombs of the 8th Air Force)… a similar battle today was in the offing. And there were crashes galore that took out several big-name riders including Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha) who still finished was was reported later to have a broken rib – his Giro is done!

    At the finish was Cadel Evans (BMC), Rigoberto Uran (Omega Pharma / Quickstep), Nairo Quintana (Movistar) in a lead group – the last of the remaining GC-favorites – but it was Michael Matthews (Orica-GreenEdge) – the current pink-jersey wearer – who came forth and won today’s stage. He stays in pink bur Uran (2nd in GC) and Cadel (3rd in GC) are closing in…

  11. Caller no. 8 says:

    Andrew O’Hehir at Salon:

    “Godzilla” is the best action movie since “Jaws”

    Magnificent action, visual daring and an unexpected moral depth make the new “Godzilla” an awesome surprise

    http://www.salon.com/2014/05/15/godzilla_is_the_best_action_movie_since_jaws/

  12. Lizard says:

    How come they never show the good movies at IMAX? Like eye surgery? 😉

  13. waverly says:

    Hey where is the Jackman of all trades ? I hope he is not too bummed over FCC vote.

  14. Haruko Haruhara says:

    Bass, Bass, Bass!

    We watched the Tour of California today. We saw Taylor Phinney win.

  15. I think we should demand that Wheeler is removed as chairman of the FCC. Who is with me if I start a petition, will you share it?

  16. boyinboycott says:

    Anyone keeping a second set of books at the VA, doesn’t want to cross paths with Dr. Jill Biden and Michelle Obama

  17. Caller no. 8 says:

    A BBQ Book That You Can LITERALLY Barbecue With

    http://twistedsifter.com/2014/05/bbq-book-you-can-literally-bbq/

    …and Frankfurt, Germany is the Sifter’s Pic of the Day

    http://twistedsifter.com/2014/05/600-year-old-tower-in-front-of-modern-high-rise-frankfurt/

    • thedood says:

      Hi Caller! Cool pic! I miss grilling out…I’m on a second floor apartment and gotta go downstairs and at least 20 feet from the building to grill…fire regulations…not the most convenient.

  18. GODDAMIT what’s my Discus password I’m taking it straight to the FCC’s website.

    • nebdem says:

      Your password was
      Klingonsareawesome
      Remember when you told me to save it in case you lost it?
      Well, I’m doing my duty here in reposting it for you!

      • thedood says:

        Ha! Hi Neb!

        • nebdem says:

          Greetings, Dood! How are you doing tonight? Is the weather better today than yesterday? Has Clancey had his walk?

          • thedood says:

            Well…it finally quit raining so we’ve been out a couple times! Have you made the weather acceptable for Millie? I know she is particular!
            Oh…meant to respond to a post a page or two back…I’ve never really played any RPGs…I would imagine they would require a lot of attention…I try to not get too absorbed in any one thing…I could really get hooked into gaming! I’m happy I’ve gotten almost half of “Griftopia” read!!

            • nebdem says:

              I have made it as acceptable as I can for Millie, tonight there is a frost warning, so I will keep her in.

              RPG’s have a charm about them if you find a good one, they are truly absorbing though, meaning you could become addicted to them. They require a lot of attention and planning based on how the leveling system works for the game you get. There aren’t a lot of them out right now, but there are a few good ones coming out later this year:

              http://www.officialplaystationmagazine.co.uk/2014/01/16/ps4s-2014-rpgs-the-best-role-playing-games-releasing-this-year/

              I’m glad you are enjoying “Griftopia!”

              • thedood says:

                Yeah…they look cool but time consuming…maybe at some point….
                I mentioned at the start of the year that I hoped to pick up my reading again…hoping to learn about some subjects I’m interested in and want to learn more about.

                • nebdem says:

                  If you plan on picking up any subjects just let me know, I have so many books that I could give you some suggestions. I have been reading about Germany Pre-WWII lately, fascinating stuff.

                • thedood says:

                  I used to love to read WWII history, then the Vietnam war. Science fiction long ago. Now I want to understand more about economics and banking and such…I think the books I recently bought will be helpful!

                • nebdem says:

                  I need to eventually read more about banking, I have a few books, but it would be a long process considering how much it changes over the years, but I’m certain there are a few books out there that give a beginner to the subject an introductory lesson.

                • thedood says:

                  That’s why I picked the books I did…they relate to current events…really informative so far!

  19. OWS wrongful imprisonment, The attack on a free internet WKE-UP PEOPLE !!!!!!!!! this is nothing but a smoke screen to a TURKEY invasion. When they take over there won’t be anyone to help us.

  20. thedood says:

    The O’Jays – For The Love of Money (Audio)…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GXE_n2q08Yw&feature=kp

  21. KAT I’m making that Bill Moyers the next page, I’m also adding clips fro a few years ago when he was the among the first to warn us.

    Here he is quite pissed:

  22. Lizard says:

    I’m off to Doe Bay Resort to listen to local musicians and eat pizza made by hippies!!!
    See you guys later tonight.

Comments are closed.