Maya Angelou, 1928 – 2014 She Rose


Still I Rise

Maya Angelou, 1928 – 2014
You may write me down in history
With your bitter, twisted lies,
You may trod me in the very dirt
But still, like dust, I’ll rise.

Does my sassiness upset you?
Why are you beset with gloom?
‘Cause I walk like I’ve got oil wells
Pumping in my living room.

Just like moons and like suns,
With the certainty of tides,
Just like hopes springing high,
Still I’ll rise.

Did you want to see me broken?
Bowed head and lowered eyes?
Shoulders falling down like teardrops,
Weakened by my soulful cries?

Does my haughtiness offend you?
Don’t you take it awful hard
‘Cause I laugh like I’ve got gold mines
Diggin’ in my own backyard.

You may shoot me with your words,
You may cut me with your eyes,
You may kill me with your hatefulness,
But still, like air, I’ll rise.

Does my sexiness upset you?
Does it come as a surprise
That I dance like I’ve got diamonds
At the meeting of my thighs?

Out of the huts of history’s shame
I rise
Up from a past that’s rooted in pain
I rise
I’m a black ocean, leaping and wide,
Welling and swelling I bear in the tide.

Leaving behind nights of terror and fear
I rise
Into a daybreak that’s wondrously clear
I rise
Bringing the gifts that my ancestors gave,
I am the dream and the hope of the slave.
I rise
I rise
I rise.

About Fancy Jack

Don't worry I'm not trying to be a Legitimate blogger.........no time for it and no money in it, just have fun.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Badges and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

738 Responses to Maya Angelou, 1928 – 2014 She Rose

  1. boyinboycott says:

    Eurythmics – Missionary Man

  2. beatlex says:

    I read” I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings” so long ago I don’t remember much of it.I know I liked it.What a remarkable life she led.Her life was a triumph,and the kind of American success story that inspires

  3. boyinboycott says:

    bleeech ….just read Chick-fil-A is opening a franchise in Canada,(Calgary airport)
    or as I describe it the malignancy spreads.

    TASTES LIKE HATE

  4. fi says:

    Goodnight dear Realmfolk.

  5. Caller no. 8 says:

    6-Year Study Reveals Toxins Contaminating Columbia River, Wildlife

    In the first such study of toxic contaminants within the Columbia River, researchers have found troubling results. Not only is the water polluted, but so is the wildlife—the fish which both birds and people are eating. The contaminants being blamed? Those that go down the drains in homes all across the country.

    http://www.nationofchange.org/6-year-study-reveals-toxins-contaminating-columbia-river-wildlife-1401374817

  6. Caller no. 8 says:

    Report: Donald Sterling to sell Clippers to former Microsoft CEO Steve Ballmer

    http://www.salon.com/2014/05/29/donald_sterling_to_sell_clippers_to_former_microsoft_ceo_steve_ballmer/

    • Lizard says:

      Cool! You have a salt water tank.

      • Darth says:

        Yeah, a coral reef system.

        • Lizard says:

          Must be a bit complicated. Watching the pH and salinity and temp.

          • Darth says:

            Actually those are pretty easy. Nitrates, magnesium and other mineral spikes are much more difficult to manage. My goal is getting to a closed system, with biological and mechanical sump filtration. It very hard to do and expensive. Some people dedicate entire rooms to this stuff. The tanks in this picture? Those aren’t the main aquarium, that is in the other room and you can’t see it, those are a biological sump. It’s basically a mini-water treatment plant. http://reefbuilders.com/files/2008/06/jaubert-sump-system.jpg

      • Darth says:

        Some gobies like to dig in the sand (all day pretty much), it keeps the sand clear from detritus build up. Since my other little guy kicked the bucket you can really see the difference in sand quality, for the worse.

        • Lizard says:

          Interesting! Self contained ecosystem. I was looking into aquaponics. Raising fish and using the waste water to feed plants in a soil less environment. It’s a cycle for both the plants and the fish.

    • Hobette says:

      Reef protection? I’m sorry, I don’t understand the differences (pros/cons) of the choices, why you can only have one type, or what the protective goal is. Can you elaborate?

      • Darth says:

        More than one and they’ll fight, some fight to the death. Like I just told liz, they keep the sand clear of debris. I’ve had one for years and now that’s he’s gone you can really see the difference. The choice is all about style. I kind of like the red one.

        • Hobette says:

          I just noticed you were talking about a salt-water tank, but now I understand. I thought you talking about a reef in the ocean–duh. 😳 They’re all quite beautiful, I would have a hard time choosing! Will you have a breeding pair of whatever you choose, or just one fish?

          • Darth says:

            Just the one, a breeding pair would be expensive and counterproductive. my other reef fish would eat them.

            • Hobette says:

              Well now you’ve gone and taught me somethings new, Darth! 😀
              I still choose the blue one with the smile! 😉

        • Hobette says:

          My favorite is the hexedagain–I like the blue, and he has a nice smile. 😉

    • boyinboycott says:

      I like the red mandarin

    • Coppernicus says:

      how big is yours?

  7. Lizard says:

    Cooking dinner and listening to Little Dragon. I likes them and puppets!!

    Little Dragon – Twice https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yedD4JsZyT0

  8. boyinboycott says:

    I liked having aquariums (fresh water), they were peaceful to watch, unfortunately Beau doesn’t want one inside, we have three tanks of goldfish outside, that he tends.

    • msolomon2 says:

      ah our wonderful militarized police (remember to serve and protect!)… every time you think they’ve managed to hit rock-bottom they manage a new low.

      • Hobette says:

        Agreed. That poor child!! It doesn’t say what his relationship is to the child (if any), but can you imagine a 5-yr-old looking at that guy in the photo as he points a gun at his/her little head??!! He belongs in prison!!! He’s 👿

  9. boyinboycott says:

    Louisiana, Texas Flooding: Caskets Wash Away, Man Drowns as Water Level Rises; EF1 Tornado Confirmed
    http://www.weather.com/news/weather-severe/flash-flooding-louisiana-houston-texas-20140528

  10. Hobette says:

    E-mail from GOP.com, heading “He’s dangerous.”

    In a desperate attempt to cling onto power, Democrat Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid has become “the most dangerous man in the world,” “an imperial majority leader,” and a “wannabe totalitarian,” according to several headlines.

    Harry Reid has been on an unprecedented power trip—from rewriting the Constitution to fit his political needs, using the “nuclear option” to change the Senate rules, unilaterally pushing through President Obama’s liberal appointees and judicial nominees, and circumventing the normal checks and balances system to ram through his radical agenda.

    It’s unlike anything we’ve ever seen. And it’s terrifying.

    Reid’s abuses of power – and the desperate and deceitful measures he has taken to hold onto his position as Majority Leader – are nothing short of radical, unethical and downright disturbing. He truly is the most dangerous man for America.

    That’s why it’s absolutely crucial that we fire Harry Reid and take back the Senate. There’s too much at stake.

    In the past year, Harry Reid only allowed Republicans to vote on nine of their proposed amendments. This type of action is deplorable—and the Obama-Reid stronghold must be stopped.

    We now have just a few months left to reclaim the Senate and end Reid’s hold on power. And you only have two days left to make the greatest impact yet on the critical midterm elections by contributing before this month’s urgent Federal Election Commission (FEC) deadline.

    With the election a few months away, all eyes are on the success of this month’s FEC deadline. Liberal billionaires like Tom Steyer are watching our numbers closely and are ready to funnel money into Democrats’ campaigns. These liberal elites will take any chance to outraise and outspend us in the final stretch.

    We can’t let them. Our critical end of month FEC deadline is Saturday, May 31, at midnight—so we must act now.

    Contribute $20.14 to fire Harry Reid and reclaim the Senate today.

    Thanks,

    Chuck DeFeo
    RNC Deputy Chief of Staff

  11. boyinboycott says:

    I’ve altered my plans for my chest of drawers, I wanted it out in the yard, rather than up on the porch, and planned to have it visible front and back. It’s pretty flimsy as a piece of furniture, with a cruddy fiber board back. So I’ll keep it on the porch (where it’s been for about 4 years.) I’ll just paint the sides and front, leave the back alone, and use fence boards on the top, instead of expanding the top with a 2 X 12 and 2 X 4’s.
    Now I have to think of another purpose for my rainbow painted branches, that were going to support the longer top.
    it’s a puzzlement
    The rain made my squash plants double in size.

    • Lizard says:

      Many projects! My biggee which I finally started a week or so ago is replacing the railing on my sundeck. About 70 or 80 feet of railing needs to be ripped out and replaced. The current is lodgepole pine from Montana but I am putting in pressure treated wood and horse fence type galvanized steel wire. Should handle the southern exposure and moisture better. Will put a 4″ wide Trex artificial wood cap on top when done to make a nice smooth top surface. The biggest challenge is working over 22 feet off the ground and on a slope to get to the deck railing to unbolt then bolt in the new.

  12. boyinboycott says:

    btw the painted branches came fro our burn pile, and may return there.

  13. boyinboycott says:

    we have the fixings for subgum shrimp and pork chow mein, so I’ll be woking tomorrow, a double batch of brownies might also find it’s way into the oven.
    I’m trying out a tip I saw online, of putting plastic wrap in the stems of bananas to slow how soon they ripen, it also said taping or putting plastic wrap on tomato stem does the same thing.

  14. Lizard says:

    Off to Doe Bay to listen to some local musicians for the open mike Pizza Night party. See you guys later!

Comments are closed.