Voted


DSC08152

I’m standing in this G-d forsaken line once again…Ok, that is a lie-there was no line. My polling station is meticulous in every way- clean and efficient. Mid-term elections always feel dirty, reminiscent of times square before the  Disney store displaced all the hookers.

There wasn’t a familiar face in the place. I was number 86; I did my deed without any fanfare, just another ballot cast. It’s easy to be jaded when the candidates are all the wrong choice, the most we can do  in those instances is vote along party affiliations- in the entire spectrum  of human emotions this has got to be one of the most empty.

Walt Whitman wrote:

“The genius of the United States is not best or most in its executives or legislatures, nor in its ambassadors or authors or colleges, or churches, or parlors, nor even in its newspapers or inventors, but always most in the common PEOPLE.” It’s those words, that promise that fuel my desire to vote–being a democrat in  NYC it’s easy to think, ” hey, it’s ok to skip midterm elections, we will remain in power–however, excluding myself  from the process robs me of my right to say to  those elected— UP- YOURS! If you want my vote do what we put you in office to do, otherwise next elections I may say to you UP YOURS!

In summation yes, there’s a lot of dissolution, but that does not matter, what matters is living up to what old Walt said, ” The genius of the United States.”

About Jack Cassidy

Don't worry I'm not trying to be a Legitimate blogger.........no time for it and no money in it, just have fun.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Badges. Bookmark the permalink.

402 Responses to Voted

  1. Lizard says:

    FuckabunchaGOP

  2. Jack says:

    2014 Midterm elections= Obama’s “shellacking.”

    • waverly says:

      Yeah he had hismass handed to him and he wasn’t even on the ballot. That’s the way midterms have gone historically speaking.

  3. Jack says:

    Gotta head out catch you laterz!

  4. Hobette says:

    So it wasn’t just a bad dream?

Comments are closed.