A Slice Of Life


Dawg’s loss, Wave moving?  and me finding BIB’s original  Realm header has put me in one of those moods. Life regardless of the Wars, the ignorance, abject poverty and misery is STILL is a rare gift–If you don’t think you won the cosmic lottery by being born a lot has gone wrong for you. I think we need to hold on to that first kiss, the first time you were proud of yourself, the time a stranger offered you a kindness when you needed it the most, the first time you locked eyes with a new-born and you knew that you would be forever intertwined.

I don’t offer many stories about me; and certainly not about my family but this as limited in details, describes one of the most precious individuals in my life just before she passed away.

She had been sick since early spring it was now mid summer; she was dying. A remarkable thing about her was that she was the one everyone went to when there was trouble and when there were happy times; she was the center–everyone gravitated to her. As she laid in the hospital she grew impatient with the doctors. She pretty much had it with the poking, prodding and lame excuses- she knew. There was a doctor that she liked he was gentle and caring. One day a few of us were gathered by her bed as the doctor had just left having checked on her; in walks in a priest–I was tricked off by it—she chats with him and as soon as he leaves he says, who let the Vampire in?, I like doctor *****(sorry I can’t mention what she said) a lot better–Yea it was a doozie- we all burst out in laughter.

In the next few days she would only refer to them by the nicknames she gave them. She was my mom and she is the reason why most of you have been given nicknames  by me, I’ll never forget how much she got out of life, one that was not easy.

Small moments pile on and if you’re lucky they’ll amount to something really good.

Life is great warm pie… and no one has said that you are only allowed only one slice, so pig out!

About Jack Cassidy

Don't worry I'm not trying to be a Legitimate blogger.........no time for it and no money in it, just have fun.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Badges. Bookmark the permalink.

1,021 Responses to A Slice Of Life

  1. thedood says:

    My friends tent…lit by the campfire…also at Arches
    Arches camp

  2. thedood says:

    This picture taught me a valuable lesson….get a spare battery!
    Stars at Arches

    • Jack says:

      Well worth it tho.’ I like this.

      • thedood says:

        I was going for an hour and twenty minute exposure. It was late… my friend went to bed at 830P!…and I had been sipping on some Makers 46…and sampling some souvenirs I got in Colorado…allegedly…I was so tired when I tripped the shutter I was almost sorry I did and had to stay up! I’m not even sure this is the pic because when I went to check my camera when the time had elapsed, my camera was dead. The timer has a separate battery so it looked like it was working, but I don’t know when the camera died. So…I need another battery, just in case. These are actually kind of fun to do….the just take a loooooong time! 😉

    • Lizard says:

      I hate it when I get the “spinnies”. 🙂

    • bebe says:

      Dood !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      Absolutely stunning including this one…you should be a professional photographer , wow ❤ 🙂

  3. waverly says:

    47 GOP Senators Who Signed Open Letter to Iran Accused of Treason on White House Petition Website

    A recent request on the White House do-it-yourself petition page proposes that treason charges be brought against the 47 GOP Senators who penned an open letter to the Iranian government.

    So far, the petition has received over 170,000 signatures (as of publication of this article, as it is still gaining signatures every minute).

    http://www.ijreview.com/2015/03/268149-white-house-treason-petition-47-gop-senators-obtains-100000-signatures-48-hours/

  4. waverly says:

    “WE PETITION THE OBAMA ADMINISTRATION TO:

    “File charges against the 47 U.S. Senators in violation of The Logan Act in attempting to undermine a nuclear agreement.

    “On March 9th, 2015, forty-seven United States Senators committed a treasonous offense when they decided to violate the Logan Act, a 1799 law which forbids unauthorized citizens from negotiating with foreign governments. Violation of the Logan Act is a felony, punishable under federal law with imprisonment of up to three years.

    “At a time when the United States government is attempting to reach a potential nuclear agreement with the Iranian government, 47 Senators saw fit to instead issue a condescending letter to the Iranian government stating that any agreement brokered by our President would not be upheld once the president leaves office.

    “This is a clear violation of federal law. In attempting to undermine our own nation, these 47 senators have committed treason.”

  5. Jack says:

    Man I started to write a spoof GOP/Iran letter yesterday but fell asleep, today I went to the gym and as soon as I got home crashed for several hours now I have a low fever.

    Let me give it another go.

  6. Lizard says:

    Hey man, I was trippin’ balls with this fever and saw Hendrix outside my apartment window.

  7. thedood says:

    Arches National Park is where Ed Abbey spent a couple seasons as a ranger and was inspired to write “Desert Solitaire”…one of my all time favorite books. It was really awesome to be there! More pics later!

  8. Tío Azúcar says:

    A 1799 law? How old is that 2nd Amendment?

  9. Lizard says:

    Had to bag a few trolls on the Jerusalem Post.

  10. Tío Azúcar says:

    Fishbone redux,
    Went to the doc yesterday and was sent home with a lidocaine mouthwash to swallow. Supposedly it would numb my throat and make the pain go away. It didn’t……… Woke up felling worse, that infected feeling in the throat, nose, ear and detected a growing obstruction of my airway. Called hospital and was told to come in right away. Saw doc and was kicked upstairs to Ear, Nose and Throat. He scoped me and saw, damage from the fishbone impact, inflammation and (gloss alert) a fluid filled sac. The sac was moving a bit partially closing the airway. He gave me a blast of prednisone and antibiotics. Feeling better already. Going back on Friday morning for another scope to check things out.
    Beware the grouper………………

  11. Lizard says:

    Mellow stuff for my Nyquil high

  12. Jack says:

    Hey DAWG I hope they can get you fixed, that bone must be exasperating — having said that time to get jackholed 😀 it could have been worse:

  13. Tío Azúcar says:

    Also, from the north. The ice dams started coming down in the last 24 hours. One ‘taco’ed’ the rear deck, caved it in. On the deck was a Weber gas grill, that is also doa. Down the house a bit another dam did serious damage to our rear stairs. The whole thing is leaning outward and the railings are busted off. It’s hard to know the full extent of the damage because there’s still so much snow. Guess we’ll be finding out how good our homeowners policy is.
    The good news is, it’s almost spring.

  14. waverly says:

    Thought this was pretty funny.

    “I knowed it was you Fredo”

    Fredo Corleone and the 47 Traitors
    http://www.dailykos.com/story/2015/03/11/1370059/-Fredo-Corleone-and-the-47-Traitors

  15. Tío Azúcar says:

    Fancy, don’t ‘wait’ get out ahead of it and call your doc. Don’t make me get Bebe after you 🙂 ❤

    • fancykat says:

      Ha! I may do that. My immune system is crap from an illness I came down with about eight years ago. No cure but my doc at OSU has sure kept me alive. For almost two years my blood work has been good. There’s a new pill out that the FDA has approved but when I checked, about $10,000 a year. I know research is expensive but that’s terrible. ❤

  16. Lizard says:

    Oh…this one is nice.

  17. waverly says:

    Addicting Info – Joe Biden Rips Republican Traitors A New One For Sending Letter To Wreck Iran Talks

    Not only have all 47 Republicans committed treason against this country and broken a law that goes back to the very beginning of our republic, they have embarrassed themselves and the nation in the eyes of the world and demonstrated that they have no interest in governing. All they care about is undermining the sitting US president at every turn just because they hate the color of his skin. Tom cotton should be especially ashamed. As a new member of the Senate, he should shut the hell up and actually learn how things work instead of popping off about things he doesn’t understand. This is also a major betrayal of the US military with which he once served since he is obviously trying to spark a war that would cost the lives of thousands of men and women. Cotton doesn’t love this country or the soldiers who don a uniform to protect it.

    If there is a chance for peace with Iran, we should seek it. Instead, Republicans would rather continue to conspire with Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu to start a war in which the Israelis would sit back and watch from the sidelines as America does their dirty work for them while Republicans like Cotton and their defense industry puppet masters make money off the blood of our own. This is a new low for the GOP and they should be ashamed.

    http://www.addictinginfo.org/2015/03/11/joe-biden-rips-republican-traitors-a-new-one-for-sending-letter-to-wreck-iran-talks/

Comments are closed.