Undefined


Nothing

This page will be defined by your posts.

“A modern democracy is a tyranny whose borders are undefined; one discovers how far one can go only by traveling in a straight line until one is stopped.”  Norman Mailer 

About Jack Cassidy

Don't worry I'm not trying to be a Legitimate blogger.........no time for it and no money in it, just have fun.
This entry was posted in Badges. Bookmark the permalink.

351 Responses to Undefined

  1. fluffjo says:

    Happy Father’s Day to all the Realm Dads! ❤

  2. Tío Azúcar says:

    To my son and daughter, wouldn’t be Father’s Day without them. (This was the song for our father-daughter dance at my daughter’s wedding last year)

  3. Guy Smiley says:

    Where’s Jack?

    Wake up you scoundrel!

  4. Tío Azúcar says:

    Guy,
    One last thought on playing ability and the emotional value/connection of music. I have a friend who is a great country blues player. He went to hear John Jorgenson play his gypsy jazz material.

    So, next time I saw him he was completely flustered. “Man, I can’t play like that, (on and on), I’m going to sell all my guitars and quit……………..”

    I asked him if Mississippi John Hurt had gone to hear Jorgenson would he have felt the same? Imagine the lose to us all if every guitarist lest technically proficient than Jorgenson (which is most of us, the guy is a monster) stopped playing? My point is that everyone, no matter what their skill level, provided they’re playing from the heart, brings something to the table.

    • Guy Smiley says:

      😀

      Truly inspirational words, Tio. I picked it up later on in life and have never regretted it even if the neighbors have! Musicians can be easily inspired by almost any random thing that need not be musical but just some noise. hey that’s a cool noise, I can use that in this section of that song sorta thing. Blows me away, I do not think like that at all!

      No really good musician I’ve talked to and confessed my two decade long guitarfail to, not one, like ever in those 20 years, has told me to stop or been rude in any way at all – the total opposite. Every single one of them says about the same thing: never quit the musical side of your life, keep on going. Not because they are polite, not because they would even like what I can play when at my absolute best. I think it is just because they love music as a sacred but an open thing, playing music is a thing which opens up a part of us that only playing music can, even if we don’t play it well. It is participation of any kind at all they love. I think all musicians love it for this reason and this makes them a very well bonded community with a love of musical history and its most ancient, prehistoric traditions.

      There’s some tradecraft in how people play their music of course, but it is all so openly explained, all the knowledge is shared around, people love to teach and to learn, the knowledge is open source and all performing musicians are clearly, already giving people. So to me the sharing and very open culture of professional musicians to amateurs like me who just enjoy playing guitar, that is always really impressive to me. To be honest I think science culture and literary culture could both learn a lot from music culture. But I’ll park my comment now and try to avoid further ranting.

      So yeah thanks, man is what I’m saying in the most long-winded way possible.

  5. waverly says:

    Happy Fathers Day to all the Dads here at the Realm

  6. Tío Azúcar says:

    Oh, Fi, Fluff…… anyone?

  7. Tío Azúcar says:

    Dylann Roof says he was inspired by George Zimmerman, whom he feels was in the right…………….

    • Guy Smiley says:

      I passed that through my wrong-o-meter. It is very handy in measuring the exact and precise amount of wrongness of current events as they unfold.

      When I pass that through the wrong-o-meter it comes up as a divide by zero error. I think that means it is the same thing as an infinite amount of wrong. But it could just need recalibration.

      • bebe says:

        Happy father`s day Guy…I am in OH..realmsters covers so many States in here and abroad 🙂

        • Guy Smiley says:

          Thanks bebe! Yes it’s a big realm! Spans the planet. And the universe if it’s conceded that Darth is possibly also posting from a long time ago and a galaxy far, far away!

  8. bebe says:

    Happy father`s day to all the dads including Jack have a Happy rugrats day.<3

  9. Hobette says:

    HAPPY FATHER’S DAY REALM DADS!!

    • Guy Smiley says:

      This podcast on Tagore was great imo. Yay BBC!
      http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b05sxv7b

      The intro alone is good stuff…

      “Rabindranath Tagore was the first non-European to win a Nobel Prize for Literature. He has been called one of the outstanding thinkers of the 20th century and the greatest poet India has ever produced.

      “His Nobel followed publication of Gitanjali, his English version of some of his Bengali poems. WB Yeats and Ezra Pound were great supporters.

      “Tagore was born in Calcutta in 1861 and educated partly in Britain; King George V knighted him, but Tagore renounced this in 1919 following the Amritsar Massacre. A key figure in Indian nationalism, Tagore became a friend of Gandhi, offering criticism as well as support.

      “A polymath and progressive, Tagore painted, wrote plays, novels, short stories and many songs. The national anthems of India and Bangladesh are based on his poems.”

  10. Hobette says:

    Summer arrives 11:38 a.m. CDT

  11. fi says:

    Hellooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  12. Guy Smiley says:

    To all the other dads out there…

    And a happy fathers day!

Comments are closed.