Black Cat Day!


My black cat ANGUS is the coolest cat.

A ghost, though invisible, still is like a place

your sight can knock on, echoing; but here
within this thick black pelt, your strongest gaze
will be absorbed and utterly disappear:

just as a raving madman, when nothing else
can ease him, charges into his dark night
howling, pounds on the padded wall, and feels
the rage being taken in and pacified.

She seems to hide all looks that have ever fallen
into her, so that, like an audience,
she can look them over, menacing and sullen,
and curl to sleep with them. But all at once

as if awakened, she turns her face to yours;
and with a shock, you see yourself, tiny,
inside the golden amber of her eyeballs
suspended, like a prehistoric fly.

About Fancy Jack

Don't worry I'm not trying to be a Legitimate blogger.........no time for it and no money in it, just have fun.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Badges. Bookmark the permalink.

1,486 Responses to Black Cat Day!

  1. Jack says:

    So two days ago I go in for a skin rash thing, they paste my back with tabs that are supposed to tell me if I have allergies. I had some discomfort; I chucked it to the medical tape irritating my skin, much as a label tag on a t-shirt would.

    Went in to the dermatologists today to remove the patches. It felt as it had come loose because the adhesive may have melted with body heat. When the MD assistant sees it she kind pf panics rushes out to get the doctor stat. She a PA and the MD see it. The concern was quite visible. I have a huge infection/reaction on much of my upper/middle back. Then the tape came off the smell was of death. They put me on strong antibiotics and a cream. I was told to rush to the hospital if I got a fever/chills or nausea/dizziness.

    Right now I have a bit of dizziness no fever–I have not eaten much plus my BP is low. So I’ll wait and if I get feverish to the hospital I go because it could go into the blood and I”ll need IV antibiotics.

    Fun times.

  2. MSolomon2 says:

    Here’s how we could actually get to that new, Earth-like planet just a star away
    http://www.blastr.com/2016-8-25/heres-how-we-could-actually-get-new-earth-planet-just-star-away
    “Of course, the actual technology for these light sails doesn’t actually exist in a feasible way, and researchers behind the Breakthrough Starshot initiative say it should take another 20-25 years to develop the tech. So we’re probably still around 50 years from getting a probe to Proxima b.

    But now we have something to aim for. Or maybe in the meantime we’ll figure out warp drives (fingers crossed).”

    (really need that warp-drive!)

  3. Jack says:

    Ok I’m off to bed, gotta be at the MD early. Nite youse all.

  4. 4Ephant says:

    Sleep well, Boss….8-)

  5. Darth says:

    There’s been a lot of talk about the alt-right recently, now that they are essentially managing Trump’s campaign. It has become a talking point with the talking heads who basically try to boil them down to white supremacists, so case closed. It’s more complicated than that, and a mistake to dismiss them as simple knuckle draggers IMO. They are an amalgamation of nearly every bad idea I can think of, and they are gaining traction.

    The alt-right is more than warmed-over white supremacy. It’s that, but way way weirder. http://www.vox.com/2016/4/18/11434098/alt-right-explained

    • Jack says:

      This is what people do ignore things or lessen the importance because, particularly on the left, the hubris and smugness runs high. They ignored when the early tea party became grassroots, attracted, be it r-wing loons, some key players and mobilized enough to get people in office.

      The left is doing the same thing again because they are still blind as to how unlikable Hillary is.

    • MSolomon2 says:

      muricas own brown-shirts! Fuehrer-drumpf will need them!

  6. fi says:

    OMG Jack is so ill, what will we do without him!

    Morning folks, howz stuff

    • Darth says:

      Fibees! He’s got stinky bandages! I’m sure he’ll pull through, I hope. Wat you up to?

      • fi says:

        Star work at 7am this morning, what was I thinking about getting a wee part time job, but still I finish at midday, so hey-ho, what you up to Darffy, do you work at all?

  7. Darth says:

    wow!

    The Root Bridges of Cherrapunji http://www.atlasobscura.com/places/root-bridges-cherrapungee
    “In the depths of northeastern India, in one of the wettest places on earth, bridges aren’t built — they’re grown.”

  8. fi says:

    See you all at the other end of the day, bye folks. xxx

  9. bebe says:

    Wake Up Pomchi !
    Getting late for tai Chi…I have to walk, feed you , shower….then Out….

  10. Tio Azúcar says:

    Jack, good luck at the doc’s this morning. Thinking of you buddy.

Comments are closed.