Adam West: September 1928 – June 2017


bda69e70edfa12c8c2c25d1478ffd1ff

Every so often American pop culture loses an icon, AW is one. Prior to being  BATMAN,  West  had diverse portfolio having roles from Westerns to an astronaut landing on Mars on TV’s the Outer limits.

The 1966-68 Batman series was campy, tongue-in-cheek and West enjoyed playing Batman that way. After Batman, he was typed-cast something that for an actor with a wide range talent was a disservice. In the 70’s he had the opportunity to shed the stereotype when he was offered the role of James Bond for the movie Diamonds Are Forever; he declined stating that the role should always go to a British actor, given similar circumstances I don’t think there are many actors today that would show such appreciation for their craft.

West became a pop-culture icon and had a successful career as a voice-over actor and the show that was cancelled due to production problems and declining ratings became profitable in syndication.

West is still regarded as the best Batman, a role  played by many Hollywood A-listers– he did it by bringing humanity and humor to a character that is dark and brooding, now that deserves a, “Holy lifetime achievement Adam!”

About Jack Wayne

Don't worry I'm not trying to be a Legitimate blogger.........no time for it and no money in it, just have fun.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Badges. Bookmark the permalink.

637 Responses to Adam West: September 1928 – June 2017

  1. fi says:

    Great to see Fluffers around. xxx

  2. x27 says:

    Say what you will…but fi has (bar none) the best cute animal,sunrises,famous landmarks in Scotland,and generally interesting pictures…on the net

  3. Darth says:

    looks like I’m late to the party.

    • Classical Gas says:

      We were bored.

      HIya, Darth!

      • Darth says:

        Hey kitteh, what’s up? I brought pizza at least. Anchovies on Jack’s of course, his fav.

        • Classical Gas says:

          Oh, dis n’ dat. Everything copacetic with you?

          Good, he’s been whining for pizza.

          • Darth says:

            The usual, I was working on a little project. I found a blacksmith (i know, right?) who makes stuff with reclaimed iron & steel. He makes these L irons that are really nice for shelving. Cheap too! So I got a few and got some knotty pine planks and just beat the tar out of ’em, then stained & varnished them. Came out nice with the black iron. I’ll upload a pic if I ever get around to it.

            • Classical Gas says:

              Nice! I have a good buddy who’s a farrier and blacksmith. Nice work, too.

              • Darth says:

                Nice! I love turning raw materials into something useful, even beautiful. Something about the creative process really appeals to me. It’s one of humanity’s better qualities IMO.

  4. x27 says:

    Pizza is always good

  5. x27 says:

    OKAY!

    Going to get Trump!

  6. x27 says:

    Goodnight folks..

  7. x27 says:

    Sweet Loretta fat,she thought she was a cleaner,but she was a frying pan.John Lennon Adlib to” get back” McCartney lyric.Listen…

  8. bebe says:

    I Had A Hippopotamus

    I had a Hippopotamus, I kept him in a shed
    And fed him upon vitamins and vegetable bread
    I made him my companion on many cheery walks
    And had his portrait done by a celebrity in chalk
    His charming eccentricities were known on every side
    The creatures’ popularity was wonderfully wide
    He frolocked with the Rector in a dozen friendly tussles
    Who could not but remark on his hippopotamuscles
    If he should be affected by depression or the dumps
    By hippopotameasles or the hippopotamumps
    I never knew a particle of peace ’till it was plain
    He was hippopotamasticating properly again
    I had a Hippopotamus, I loved him as a friend
    But beautiful relationships are bound to have an end
    Time takes alas! our joys from us and rids us of our blisses
    My hippopotamus turned out to be a hippopotamisses
    My house keeper regarded him with jaundice in her eye
    She did not want a colony of hippotami
    She borrowed a machine gun from from her soldier nephew, Percy
    And showed my hippopotamus no hippopotamercy
    My house now lacks that glamour that the charming creature gave
    The garage where I kept him is now as silent as the grave
    No longer he displays among the motor tyres and spanners
    His hippopomastery of hippopotamanners
    No longer now he gambols in the orchards in the spring
    No longer do I lead him through the village on a string
    No longer in the morning does the neighbourhood rejoice
    To his hippopotamusically-modulated voice.
    I had a hippopotamus but nothing upon earth
    Is constant in its happines or lasting in its mirth
    No joy that life can give me can be strong enough to smother
    My sorrow for that might-have-been-a-hippopota-mother

    by Patrick Barrington

  9. bebe says:

    Tai Chi at the park but it is raining

Comments are closed.