Fat Tuesday: Laissez les bons temps rouler!


New Orleans Celebrates Mardi Gras

“And the glorious Night is approaching–this quaint, old-time night, star-jeweled, fantastically robed; and the blue river is bearing us fleets of white boats thronged with strangers who doubtless are dreaming of lights and music, the tepid, perfumed air of Rex’s palace, and the motley route of merry ghosts, droll goblins, and sweet fairies, who will dance the dance of Carnival until blue day puts out at once the trembling tapers of the stars and the lights of the great ball.”
~ Lafcadio Hearn

 

This entry was posted in Badges. Bookmark the permalink.

644 Responses to Fat Tuesday: Laissez les bons temps rouler!

  1. thedood says:

    Greetings from Kansas City! Actually, Fxcelsior Springs MO
    -4F when I snapped this when we went out for a potty break and to get some food for Clancey…it’s where I stayed last night!
    IMG_20150219_075305_210

  2. fi says:

    Anyone interested in the funding of the UK Political Parties?

    Click to access Q4-2014-donations-and-loans-summary-document.pdf

  3. Tío Azúcar says:

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! New Dr. Seuss Book, ‘What Pet Should I Get?’, Coming in July, With More to Come!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    When Harper Lee’s “Go Set a Watchman” hits bookstores in July, it will face sales competition from another long-lost manuscript by a beloved author: Dr. Seuss.

    Random House has announced the publication on July 28 of “What Pet Should I Get?,” the story of a brother and sister searching for the newest member of the family. The manuscript had been in a box that was discovered in the home of Dr. Seuss (otherwise known as Theodore Geisel) in the La Jolla section of San Diego, shortly after his death in 1991, and set aside. In 2013, Mr. Geisel’s widow, Audrey, and longtime secretary and friend, Claudia Prescott, went through the box and found the nearly complete manuscript, along with other unpublished work.

    http://artsbeat.blogs.nytimes.com/2015/02/18/new-dr-seuss-book-what-pet-should-i-get-coming-in-july-with-more-to-come/

  4. thedood says:

    Okay…batteries are gonna die on this thing and Clancey and I gotta hit the road anyway…may check in from Denver! Have a great day!

  5. Tío Azúcar says:

    MS, I saw that you followed the link and found Schitt’s Creek and you discovered you have POP!
    You’re right, Roland needs to meet with an accident……….

    • MSolomon2 says:

      He does! Frankly it’s funny to me because there really isn’t a “nice”, or “good” person in the lot! The motel front desk person is the only person I actually am cheering for (and have no idea what her motivations are, except she seems to like the son who I’m sorry is clearly gay).

  6. bebe says:

    Wow !
    Oliver Sacks says..

    “I feel a sudden clear focus and perspective. There is no time for anything inessential. I must focus on myself, my work and my friends. I shall no longer look at “NewsHour” every night. I shall no longer pay any attention to politics or arguments about global warming.

    This is not indifference but detachment — I still care deeply about the Middle East, about global warming, about growing inequality, but these are no longer my business; they belong to the future. I rejoice when I meet gifted young people — even the one who biopsied and diagnosed my metastases. I feel the future is in good hands.”

    • MSolomon2 says:

      Beautifully written, very sad. Only thing I would find fault in is his hopefulness that the future is in good hands. Death is the most terrible of all things in this world, the basic motivation behind human psychology. Nothing impresses me so as someone like this who is able to handle it with such grace.

      • bebe says:

        Loved it…also his mind is sound and writings fluid and I am hoping Dr. Sacks would continue to write as much as physically possible.
        You are right but optimism is all we could wish for.

  7. !!!!!!!!!! NEW POST !!!!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!!! NEW POST !!!!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!!! NEW POST !!!!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!!! NEW POST !!!!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!!! NEW POST !!!!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!!! NEW POST !!!!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!!! NEW POST !!!!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!!! NEW POST !!!!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!!! NEW POST !!!!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!!! NEW POST !!!!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!

Comments are closed.